The Saturday Issue (4)

It’s no secret that I enjoy superheros and their out of this world stories, and I wanted to do something special on the blog related to it. So since I love reading comics I figured what better way to feature superheros than to talk about the issues as I read them! I really hope you enjoy!

I know I have posted reviews of graphic novels in the past and I will continue to do so, this feature is only for single issues and will mainly focus on older comics.

Journey Into Mystery #86

Writers: Stan Lee and Larry Lieber

Artists: Jack Kirby and Dick Ayers

Notable Events: The first appearance of Odin

Thoughts: After the fantastic introduction to the magical and mischievous Loki this issue is a bit smaller in magnitude, but it is still a good read. This time Thor has to save the world from a loony guy known as the Tomorrow Man who steals a bomb and takes it into the future. Well it’s a good thing Thor is present when this goes down because he immediately springs into action and calls for help from Odin, who happily grants him the ability to spin himself through time. Odin’s first appearance is short and only takes up one panel but it’s a fairly impressive panel and it’s only a smidge creepy. The overall story is fun and  it has some great twists and turns. Of course when it comes to winning logic or writing take a hit but I suppose all can be forgiven when you have a Norse God traveling through time. There was a moment where Thor is going after the Tomorrow Man and gets caught, but it’s revealed to be a decoy and Thor reveals himself from under a cloak. That made me a tad confused because the decoy had a Thor costume and I’m assuming he just didn’t have that laying around.

I also love that the issue that deals with time travel shows signs of the times it was written, like the fact that Thor is helping the military out with weapons testing even though he has little reason to. Anyone have issues with putting a Norse God in a shack and then blowing it up? No? Me either. I guess if Thor is fine with it why should anyone raise concerns over it. I’m also wondering if I am the only one that finds it weird that a Norse God spends majority of his time hanging out in the US.

It’s enjoyable to see Thor spinning himself through time, taking on a magnetic mirror with his face, and fight a group of robots.

This week is only going to have one issue since I sort of ran out of time, so the next week’s post will be the first official Green Lantern issue. Thanks for stopping by and reading, and I hope you’ll tune in next week!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

