The Saturday Issue (7)

It’s no secret that I enjoy superheros and their out of this world stories, and I wanted to do something special on the blog related to it. So since I love reading comics I figured what better way to feature superheros than to talk about the issues as I read them! I really hope you enjoy!

Flashpoint #1 (2011)

Writer: Geoff Johns

Artists: Alex Sinclair, Andy Kubert, Sandra Hope

Notable Events: The beginning of what would be the reboot of the DC lineup

Thoughts: Starting off you are plopped into a rather normal looking work area and Barry Allen is enjoying a snooze on his desk. Only something is completely wrong…he’s normal, his mom is alive, and no one knows who the Flash is. Que the eerie music…By this point Barry is thoroughly freaked out as well, and thus the story really begins.

Batman enters the story and immediately you notice something is super off about him too. He has red eyes…which I’m a bit confused on. I mean are they red lenses? I’ve never understood the whole mask thing where their eyes become all one color…I always assume that they have color lenses or full contacts. Anyway, Batman looks kind of evil and a bit more imposing than he’s ever looked. To top it off he nearly kills someone and is completely okay with that…I’ve been saying that Batman should just end one villain to get the point across for awhile now, but now that he’s trying it’s way too weird. At the end you find out why he’s different and boy is it a doozy. I refuse to even say what it the reason is because I fully believe you should read it to find out and it just reenforces how weird everything is in this.

I can’t say a lot happened in this issue…there is a lot of talking and not much else. You do get to see some of the more obscure characters at one point but it’s brief because Batman is moody and won’t stick around for anyone. It’s a good opening and definitely makes you curious as to what all is going on, but it’s rather short and it ends right when things are getting started. I’ve read most of this story arc so I know what will happen, so I can recommend reading it especially if you are not sure about the New 52…this arc actually explains the reboot.

Thanks for stopping by! If you have any recommendations or requests please leave a comment letting me know and I’ll check them out. Tune in next week for more superhero goodness.

One thought on “The Saturday Issue (7)

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

