The Saturday Issue (8)

It’s no secret that I enjoy superheros and their out of this world stories, and I wanted to do something special on the blog related to it. So since I love reading comics I figured what better way to feature superheros than to talk about the issues as I read them! I really hope you enjoy!

Flashpoint #2 (2011)

Writer: Geoff Johns

Artists: Alex Sinclair, Andy Kubert, Sandra Hope

Notable Events: Things continue to be extremely crazy..pretty much everything is notable.

Thoughts: Alright first off, if you have NOT read Flashpoint #1 and you do NOT want to have anything spoiled for you…GO READ IT. Seriously, it’s going to be impossible for me to keep my thoughts on these issues completely spoiler free…because everything is different and everything in them matters.

Now on to the comic. This one opens up with Slade and very collective crew sailing on the ocean, and it’s pretty clear something is going down…even before Aquaman shows up and looses it. It’s probably the fact that Paris is underwater, but that’s just a guess…Flash’s memories are actually changing and he ends up finding the Reverse Flash’s suit in his ring, which of course kind of puts the pieces together for him since these two have quite the history. Wonderwoman is…moody to say the least and she and Aquaman are having it out, with the whole of Europe as their battle ground. I’m actually kind of wondering if this is a play off of the Greek mythology of Athena and Poseidon who pretty much hated each other at times. At any rate, they’ve managed to destroy half the world in blind rage and no one is trying to stop it. So of course Flash wants to be Flash again and hatches a crazy plot…I’ll give you a hint, it involves the cover art…and it doesn’t end well. But I did get a good laugh out of it.

I have to say I quite like Batman right now…I didn’t really like him all red-eyed and ruthless in the first one, but it’s kind of starting to work for me. Especially since I know why he’s like that, and since there is certainly more to come from his story in future issues. I find it kind of cool that changing one event can throw the whole world into utter chaos, and change absolutely everything…and even though I don’t quite get why everything is affected I love how huge DC made the changes. Everything is turned on its head, up is down…heroes are villains, and the world would be better off without them all.

I think what I like most about how different everything is, is that you get to see characters acting in a way you could only wonder about. What if Batman willing killed people? What if two extremely powerful heroes decided to wage war on each other? What if Flash never had a cause to be the Flash? It’s pretty much all of that put into print, and that’s what makes it so cool. I can’t wait to see what other characters have changed.

Thanks for stopping by! If you have any recommendations or requests please leave a comment letting me know and I’ll check them out. Tune in next week for more superhero goodness.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

