Dewey’s Readathon

It’s that time again! Dewey’s 24 hour readathon is underway! So what is the 24 hour readathon? Well for 24 hours we read and keep everyone updated on our progress, we also participate in challenges and meet new people in the Twitter parties! It’s a lot of fun and a great way to get your TBR under control.

This is my 2nd time doing this and I’m super excited. I had a ton of fun doing it last year and I read a whole stack of books, so here’s hoping I can make some similar progress this time around.

The Books (subject to change):

  • Exiled by MR Merrick
  • Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs
  • Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Hour 1:

  1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
  2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
  3. Which snack are you most looking forward to?
  4. Tell us a little something about yourself!
  5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
  1. I’m in Georgia, US
  2. Hm probably Exiled
  3. Not sure actually…I don’t really plan snacks out, I just grab and go.
  4. The names Michelle, I’ve been blogging about books for over 2 years now. I love superheros, video games, and anything else you can file under geeky. If I could choose one place to be right now it would be the TARDIS.
  5. I’m not sure I’ll change anything from last year, though I am getting a much later start than I did last year. Oops

Hour 5:

Turn to Page Challenge

For this challenge, you must turn to page 32 of the book you are currently reading (or the nearest page with text on it) and find the most entertaining phrase to complete the following sentence:
“If only you knew ________, you’d run screaming into the night!”

“If only you knew…there’s no need to let people know you murdered their neighbors… you’d run screaming into the night!” – Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Hour 7:

Book Blogger Bingo

The point of the game is to find a blogger for each of the five letters that spell B-I-N-G-O.

B – A blogger you’ve never come across before

Kayla from All the Things She Read

I – A blogger whose  blog name has the word ‘book’ in it

Amy from We’ll Always Have Books

N -  A blogger who lives in Europe

Vicky from Books. Biscuits, and Tea

G - A male blogger

Max from Mind In Pages

O – A blogger whose read-a-thon pile has more than 5 books

Orchid from The Haunting of Orchid Forsythia

Hour 8:

Day Break

Put down that laptop.  Put down that book.  Get up off of your booty, and take a break.  See some sunlight (or moonlight depending on where you are in the world), and take a book/technology/being-indoors break.

This break perfectly timed, both with my need to eat and my dogs restlessness. I made a sandwich and ate outside on the porch, and then I played ball with the puppy for 20 minutes. So we are both content to settle down and get back to reading.

Hour 9:

33% done with this readathon and I’m almost finished with book 1! I only have a 168 pages left of Crewel. I’m a bit behind due to my late start but I’m reading as fast as I can.

Hour 11:

Finished Book 1 – Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Marking Books

Tell us about what you like to use as bookmarks and why.

I have a rather large bookmark collection so I have plenty to choose from. I have the free ones you pick up in libraries and such, as well as some I’ve made with picture paper, metal ones and the dangly kind…even one that looks like a cat. So no matter what my mood I have a bookmark to compliment it.

Hour 12:

I’ve made it 12 hours! Yay!!

Mid Event Survey

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?
2) What have you finished reading?
3) What is your favorite read so far?
4) What about your favorite snacks?
5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!

  1. I’m alright, not very sleepy. But I am a bit distracted but I have 12 more hours right?
  2. Crewel by Gennifer Albin
  3. Crewel is the only thing I’ve finished so that would have to be it, lol.
  4. Probably the the pizza just ate
  5. I saw a few but I will have to check them out again later.

Hour 19:

Finished book 2: Exiled by MR Merrick

Hour 24 – Finish Line:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
  5. How many books did you read?
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?
  8. Which did you enjoy least?
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
  1. Probably the last one I was awake for, Hour 20…my eyes were closing on their own so I didn’t have much choice but to go to bed in the next hour.
  2. Exiled by MR Merrick was a great read; it’s quick, it’s easy and the plot is really cool.
  3. Not really, I enjoyed everything. The challenges were great and it’s awesome that everyone supports each other so much during it.
  4. The hosts were great!
  5. Only 2 this time
  6. Exiled by MR Merrick and Crewel by Gennifer Albin
  7. Hmm that’s a tough one, they were both really fantastic and were 4 star reads for me. I’d have to think about that for a bit.
  8. Same answer as above
  9. I was not a cheerleader, but great job to those that were!
  10. I’m definitely doing it again next year, and I’ll still be a reader.
9 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

