The Saturday Issue (10)

 

It’s no secret that I enjoy superheros and their out of this world stories, and I wanted to do something special on the blog related to it. So since I love reading comics I figured what better way to feature superheros than to talk about the issues as I read them! I really hope you enjoy!

Flashpoint #4 (2011)

Wrtier: Geoff Johns

Artists: Alex Sinclair, Andy Kubert, Sandra Hope

Notable Events: Things continue to be extremely crazy..pretty much everything is notable.

Thoughts:  If you haven’t read the previous issues of Flashpoint I run the risk of spoiling something for you…so if you mind then please go read them! They are worth it in my opinion.

So this is a filler issue if anything else. You get a few more characters introduced but other than that nothing insane happens until the end. Flash and the gang meet Element Woman…who I’ve never heard of and apparently she smells like chalk. She’s pink…even in personality and to be honest she got on my nerves. At any rate she helps them out and tags along. Flash is still having memory issues and it kind of looks like it hurts to be honest, so off the Shazaam team they go to see if one of the kids can poke around in his mind to make it stop rewriting itself. Now the team is Cyborg, Flash, Batman, Element Woman, and 5 kids…plus a tiger. Seriously, this is one rag tag group if I’ve ever seen one. Batman looks insanely out of place in the middle of a normal living room, and I’m curious as to how his cap forms weird little points on his shoulders. It just looks goofy.

They all pile in Batman’s jet and head off to stop Aquaman and Wonder Woman’s tantrum. The one good thing about this little battle is you find out just why Aquaman is so pissed at Wonder Woman, and it’s a pretty good reason. I know a past issue had a alternate cover with Wonder Woman holding Mira’s head but it’s in this one that it’s acknowledged. I suppose they kept their fight vague so they could do the spin-off for them in a separate mini-arc…you know, more money and all of that. I doubt I will read them any time soon because I honestly do not feel like shelling out more money for it right now.

Fighting happens and someone dies, and it’s all kind of chaotic up until an old ‘friend’ of Flash shows up finally. I have no clue why they waited so long to actually show Reverse Flash, but he’s finally turned up and it’s at the very last panel. So there is only one issue left…which kind of brings it all down. The story arc is entirely too short to hold any sort of suspense for very long, with one issue left we all know how it’s going to end.  That’s one of the main reasons this kind of disppoints me, there is so much they could have talked about within the main story arc…but instead they choose to split it up and make the main one super short.

Thanks for stopping by! If you have any recommendations or requests please leave a comment letting me know and I’ll check them out. Tune in next week for more the last Flashpoint issue!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

