Armchair BEA Day 4: Nonfiction

armchairbea3Armchair BEA is an online ‘convention’ of sorts that allows bloggers who can’t make it to BEA in New York a chance at some of the awesome action.

Non-Fiction

Nonfiction is not a genre I venture into very often. In fact I probably only read 1 nonfiction book a year on average. I normally read for escape so it’s kind of obvious why I would avoid the real stuff.

When I do pick up non-fiction it is usually always history based though a few others sneak in here and there. In fact I probably have more reference books on Archaeology and Egypt than any normal person should and I’ve read them all…numerous times. I’ll try to share some of my favorites and show a bit of variety.

Biography/Memoirs

  • I Am Ozzy by Ozzy Osborne – It’s about Ozzy…by Ozzy…it’s vulgar, crazy, and addictive.
  • The Tigeress of Forli by Elizabeth Lev – A biography about Caterina Riario Sforza, a prominent Renaissance woman from Italy
  • The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon-Reed – Centers around the Hemings family that were slaves at Thomas Jefferson’s estates.

Animal Books

Books About Books

  • How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster – It’s kind of literary criticism book, but it has a lot of wit and humor in it. There is a section with a couple eating fried chicken I will NEVER forget.

True Crime

History

  • The Mountains of the Pharaohs by Zahi Hawass – It’s about the many pyramids of Egypt of course
  • Imagining Egypt by Mark Millmore –  This is more of a reference book with sections of heirogylphs, site reconstruction, and mythology

Crazy Topics

So there you go! Feel free to leave some recommendations if you have any, I’m always open to reading more nonfiction.

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Armchair BEA Day 4: Nonfiction

  1. Trish says:

    Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Zombies sounds like a lot of fun–might have to recommend that one to a girlfriend who has a bit of a thing for zombies. I really like non-fiction but I don’t always grab for it when picking my next book. Incidentally both of my book clubs are reading non-fiction books in June–A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson and Naked by David Sedaris. They’ll both be so different but hopefully not as heavy as some of the other books we’ve been reading lately!

    If you like graphic novels, I highly recommend Persepolis. It’s one of my absolute favorite memoirs told it comic form.

  2. Dana says:

    Great list. I’m adding some to my TBR. How to Read Literature Like a Professor is one that I’ve had my eye on for a while. And The Man Who Loved Books Too Much was great. I wouldn’t mind reading that one again. I love non-fiction even though I read more fiction.

  3. I still need to read The Man Who Loved Books Too Much. Also How To Read Literature Like A Professor.

    Non fiction can be a fun way to escape the escape from fiction.

  4. I love Zahi Hawass, although I haven’t read the one you mention. I own his biography, Secrets of the Sand, and it was fascinating reading.

  5. I loved Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil!
    Great list

  6. melissa says:

    For not reading non-fiction much, you have a great selection of books!

  7. DoingDewey says:

    If you’d like to read some more non-fiction about animals, I’d suggest All Creatures Great and Small, as well as Dewey. Thanks for the great recommendations 🙂

  8. kimbacaffeinate says:

    I can just imagine Ozzy’s book ..LOL and I want Everything You Need to Know About Zombies!!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

