Saturday Issue Review: Powerpuff Girls Vol. 1

thesaturdayissue

The Saturday Issue focuses on the more visual books read here at In Libris Veritas; ranging from graphic novels to manga to game companion guides.

The Powerpuff Girls vol 1Source: IDW/Netgalley – I received this book in exchange for an honest review.
Publisher: IDW
Series: The Powerpuff Girls #1-5
Edition: eARC,  152 Pages
Genre: Graphic Novel, Kids
Purchase: AmazonBarnes & Noble / Book Depository*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating: 4/5

The Powerpuff Girls are back in this all-new adventure by Troy Little! There are some strange things going on in Townsville. The villains are villains no-more and are teaming up with the heroes? It’s a good thing Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup are still around – just in case!

I am a  huge fan of The Powerpuff Girls. I grew up watching the first cartoon show on Cartoon Network and I even read most of the first run of the comics. I was there for the movie, my room was decked out in Powerpuff Girls bedsheets and wall stickers…I even have a Christmas ornament of Buttercup. So I’m beyond stoked to see the series come back to the tv and to comic books, and I wasted no time requesting the first volume from IDW.

For those unfamiliar with PPG this is a pretty good way to get started. While it doesn’t go over the girl’s origin it does go over most of the common villains as well as the origin of their main villain Mojo Jojo. The new show has a new artstyle but the artists for the comic books keep the art from the original series that I know and love.  The girls are still the way we remember them. Blossom is the leader with her incredible knowledge and kind-hearted by logical nature. Bubbles still lives up to her name, she’s full of giggles and innocence. And then there is Buttercup, my favorite Powerpuff Girl. She’s feisty, tough, and is the pessimist of the group. I’ve missed seeing these girls beat up their enemies and I’ve missed both the serious plots mixed in with the goofy jokes.

The plot of this one feels similar to the ones we have seen in the past but with a new vigor. Mojo Jojo is tired of being beat up by the girls and he’s ready to return to his more humble origins. However the insidious Him has other plans but they seem rather pleasant…for now. I devoured this in one sitting, putting aside food and bathroom breaks until I hit the last page.

I can’t wait to see where this series goes and I’m super excited to see that kids will get to experience the excitement and fun of the Powerpuff Girls.

4 stars

This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2014) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Issue Review: Powerpuff Girls Vol. 1

  1. I was actually never a PPG watcher or reader but have def heard a lot about them, and glad that you enjoyed, Michelle.

  2. Miss Mimz says:

    I’ve always loved the Power Puff Girls and have been trying to read more manga lately so I’ll definitely be checking this one out 😀 Thanks for bringing it to my attention and for the lovely review ^^ I’m glad these keep the original artwork that I also know and love ♥ Reading your thoughts on this made me realize how much I miss the girls and the humor this show had! I hope you love the next installment just as much!

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

  3. I LOVE PPG! 😄 I totally grew up watching the TV show. I also had countless of merchandise – dolls, pillows, clothes, toys, posters, etc. My favorite one is Bubbles though. 😛 I haven’t really watched in a long time though, and I saw the new art but haven’t watched an episode

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

