Blog Tour Interview: Wilbert Stanton, author of The Artful

blog tour

 

 

Today I’m really pleased to have Wilbert Stanton on the blog to answer a few questions! He is the author of the newly released book called The Artful, which is published by Curiosity Quills!

 

interviewbanner

Welcome to the blog Wilbert and thank you for taking the time to answer a few of my questions! So I’ll jump right into it.

Can you describe The Artful in one sentence?

 The Artful is the story of two best friends, with the odds stacked against them, as they make their way through a post-apocalyptic New York City.

What inspired you to write The Artful?

The Artful was inspired by a number of things, for one I was influenced by the relationship The Artful Dodger and Oliver Twist have in the Dickens classic. However, that was only a starting point, instead I focused on what could have been if they were actually friends. I was also inspired by the friendship me and my childhood best-friend had growing up. As we grew older, we also grew apart, and this is one of the main themes throughout the story. Finally the setting was heavily influenced by a dream I had of a post-apocalyptic New York, ruled by blood hungry warlords, and gangs that fought for meds. It was an interesting mix of elements, but the end product turned out just right.

I love when a story comes has origins in many places, it makes it more unique! 

How long did it take you to write the Artful?

It actually didn’t take as long as I’ve heard other authors take. I would say it took me about a year, and that includes conception, writing, editing, and landing a publisher. I find that once I am heavily inspired I can write pretty fast, often I feel like I can’t stop until the whole story is out of my head. Going back and editing usually takes the longest, writing is rewriting, and sometimes I feel like I still have plenty of editing to do.

That’s really awesome that you managed it in a year! 

If you could choose one fictional character (other than your own)to place in your post-apocalyptic New York who would you choose?

Snake Plissken, or Mad Max. Those two were always kind of my heroes. I was always shy and quiet so naturally I loved the dark, mysterious, silent, anti-hero. They always made me feel reassured that it was alright to not have that many friends, because loners were awesome. And well, they know how to handle a post-apocalyptic world. Snake already escaped from New York!

Where are your favorite places to write?

I would love to say a cottage overlooking a majestic waterfall, a beach in Costa Rica, or the cabin from Evil Dead. I don’t know, something all inspiring. But the truth is, the only place I find time to write, is during down time at work or on lunch breaks. Sad life, I know. But I’m sure most writers will agree, one of the things we have the least time for, is writing. That being said, if I could pick a place, it would be the cabin from Evil Dead… although I probably wouldn’t get that much work done with all the violence and horrors going on.

I don’t know about the cabin from Evil Dead *shudders*, but the other two places sound amazing! 

Do you have any hobbies other than writing?

I read a lot, play videos games, and watch movies. I’m a huge geek and love everything geek culture. I like to call it “research”, but I think I just might be a couch potato.

There is nothing wrong with that! Of course I do the same thing so I might be a bit bias. 

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

I would say keep it up; don’t give up no matter how much work or helplessly hard it seems. If you truly are a writer, you know that there is nothing else that will satisfy you other than seeing your work completed. No matter how many rejections or bad critiques you get, the only person who can stop you from reaching that success is you.

That is fantastic advice Wilbert! Thank you so much for answering my questions, I wish you success with your book and I look forward to reading it!

About Wilbert Stanton

Bio_PicWilbert Stanton was born and raised in New York City. From an early age, Wilbert decided he would either write books or take over the world; everything else was just a precursor to his end game. Along the way, he has studied Psychology, English, and Computer Science. He’s held jobs in a wide range of fields and met people from all walks of life. Wilbert is constantly learning and growing as a person, in order to solidify his dreams. In the end world domination was a bit tedious, so he decided to focus on writing books.

Social Links: Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Check out The Artful!

 

Genre: young-adult, post-apocalyptic, dystopian, science-fiction

 Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

New York City, 2025: Everything is changed. The city that never sleeps is now a land of death and decay. A rampant virus has taken over and the survivors have become carriers, quarantined from the rest of the world.

Twist and Dodger grew up in the streets, the sewers and underground tunnels – their playground. They aren’t heroes. They just like attention; and stealing meds from the rich and giving them to the poor is their golden ticket.

On their latest raid, they unknowingly steal a cure that puts them square between the ailing Emperor of Manhattan and the war hungry Governor of Brooklyn and forces them on a quest into the darkest shadows of their putrefying world.

976da-addtogoodreads

Purchase Links:

 

Amazon US Amazon UKBarnes & NobleKobo

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Tour Interview: Wilbert Stanton, author of The Artful

  1. Fabulous interview! I’m reading this for a blog tour in August and also participating in a book blast next week. I can’t wait to read this one!

    Toni @ My Book Addiction

  2. Fantastic interview Michelle. This novel is new to me but I enjoy this genre and will watch for reviews. Thanks

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

