Summer Solstice Celebration Day 6: Stealing the Ruby Slippers by Amanda Moon (Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway)

In Libris Veritas'

Another day gone, and another book to feature! All of the links to the posts dealing with this celebration will be located on the starter post, which also has a giveaway! Tomorrow we will take a short little break from all of the festivities to recoup and recap! But before we get to that let’s check out my interview with Amanda Moon, author of Stealing the Ruby Slippers!

interviewbanner

Welcome to the blog Amanda! Let’s start off by introducing my readers to your book! Can you describe Stealing the Ruby Slippers in one sentence?

A criminal’s chance to pay off his debts and start his life over, a hurricane, and the most famous shoes in the world.

Can you share a sentence or quote from Stealing the Ruby Slippers?

I should be proud. I flip the TV back on and find the local news at noon. The FBI is now investigating the theft, but there are limited resources to devote with everything that is happening in New Orleans, and there are no clues. There is no evidence. I did it right.”

What inspired you to write a book about someone stealing the famous ruby slippers?

The crime and the timing are both real— a pair of ruby slippers was stolen from Grand Rapids, MN, the day before Hurricane Katrina hit New Orleans. I’m from a small town near Grand Rapids, but was living in Nashville at the time. I found out about the theft while watching Hurricane coverage, and they’ve always been linked in my mind.

Wow, I didn’t know that they were actually stolen! 

Okay, I have to ask. What is your favorite character from the Wizard of Oz? I love the Cowardly Lion.

I’ve always liked the Scarecrow. For a man without a brain, he’s pretty entertaining.

Definitely! I always loved how clumsy he was. 

Where is your favorite place to write?

I have an office in my house, but I rarely get to write there. If I’m really serious about getting work done, I have to go to a coffee shop or some place my kids can’t bug me.
What is your favorite genre to read? I personally read everything, but I adore high fantasy. 
I read everything. Right now I’m very immersed in mystery, specifically psychological thrillers, and I’m loving it.
Do you have any hobbies outside of writing?
I’ve got two kids, two dogs, and a husband that keep me very, very busy. I also have a jewelry line, www.spiralingforward.com. When I actually get free time (and have energy to do something other than watch TV) I love painting, yoga, Pilates, and being outside.
I bet they keep you on your toes! I love your jewelry pieces, they are so elegant!
Would you want a superpower? If so what would you choose?

I think flying would be fun.

I think I’d like to give flying a try…right after I get rid of my fear of heights! 

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading The Silent Wife by ASA Harrison. It’s soooooooo good.

Favorite season?

Spring. Especially now that I’m back in Minnesota.

Writing or typing?

Typing

And finally to close things up, a question I ask all authors! Any advice for aspiring authors?

It’s the simplest advice, but seriously— just write. When you’re not writing, read books on writing and that will help make you better. Then, find a writer’s group, submit your work, and participate.
About Amanda Moon
8107300Amanda Michelle Moon is the author of two books, Stealing the Ruby Slippers, based on real-life mystery, and Your Pilates Life, which applies the Pilates Principles to make powerful changes in everyday life. A native of Hill City, Minnesota, she currently resides with her family in Minneapolis where she is earning her Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Hamline University. Her previous publications include articles for Pilates Digest, and 2nd & Church, and personal essays for Radiant Magazine. Read more at www.amandamichellemoon.com.

 

Excerpt from Stealing the Ruby Slippers

She’s seen them; there’s no way of denying it to her. The guyd, maybe they’re drunk enough I can convince them they didn’t see what they thought they saw. But Kelly – she’s too awake to convince it was all a dream. Fuck. Damage control. I’m praying she hasn’t touched them when I walk back in the room.

She has.

One shoe is sitting on the bed; the other is cradled in her hands. She turning it around and around, looking at it from every possible angle.

“Is it really them?” she asks when I close the bedroom door.

I make a split decision and nod. A lie isn’t going to help. She can be devious and vengeful. Deceit doesn’t play well. But maybe if she feels like  a partner in the crime…

“So…you did it?”

I nod again.

“Why? How?”

I shrug. “I needed the money.”

“You’re going to sell them?”

“They’re already sold. Can you please put that down?”

She looks at the shoe in her hand and flinches, like she had forgotten it was there. “Sorry.” She gently sets the shoe down. “Shit, I’m sorry—” she reaches for both shoes, moving like she’s going to shove them back in the backpack.

“Just stop!” I’m more harsh than I mean to be, but a lot nicer than I could be. “Just. Stop.”

She backs away, hands in the air. Two sequins are stuck to her fingers.

“I’ll take care of it.”

I’ve already got my gloves on again. I pick the shoes up and gently wrap them in a towel and slide them in the backpack.

“What should I do? I didn’t ruin them, did I?”

I pick the sequins off her fingers and drop them on top of the shoes. “Why were you digging through my backpack?” I try to keep my voice calm. It’s not working very well. I’m tired. And Kelly’s not stupid. She knew exactly what she was doing.

“I was looking for cigarettes,” Kelly says. She bats her eyelashes in a way that makes her look sweet. Innocent. Vulnerable. It usually works. It almost works now. “I’m sorry, I know they’re in there sometimes—” I turn away, open the nightstand and throw a pack at her. She’s startled, but catches them. Her eyes narrow and seem to get darker, just for a second. Then the big round doe eyes are back.

“I’m sorry—”

“Don’t. Just don’t.” I see more sequins, and felt, stuck to Kelly’s shirt and the bed. I squat down and try to collect them, careful not to get any stuck to my jeans. Brad and Eric have seen the shoes. Kelly has seen them. I’m fucked

Stealingtheruby
Stealing the Ruby Slippers
Mystery/Thriller

Jared Canning is out of money and out of time. His gambling debts are due, and his creditors are not the kind that grant extensions. An old friend offers him a job: break into a small town museum, steal a pair Ruby Slippers Judy Garland wore in the Wizard of Oz, and share the profits when they are sold to a buyer in New Orleans.

On August 25, 2005, Jared pulls off the heist perfectly.

The next day, Jared watches Hurricane Katrina slam into New Orleans. His buyer, and his money, are gone.

Jared has a creditor with a thirst for blood on his tail, the police knocking on his door, and the most famous shoes in the country hidden in his dirty laundry. He needs to outsmart a sexy, scheming girlfriend, a drunk buddy who saw too much, and just possibly himself in order to find his way out.

Stealing the Ruby Slippers imagines wild possibilities for a real life mystery, blending fact and fiction to keep you guessing until the last page

Giveaway
US Only
1 signed bookplate and a paperback of Stealing the Ruby Slippers
Ends June 29th

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Solstice Celebration Day 6: Stealing the Ruby Slippers by Amanda Moon (Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway)

  1. Bonnie Hilligoss says:

    It sounds like he’s screwed and I would like to know how it all turns out. (I love playing The Wizard of Oz slot machine with the clicking ruby slippers!)

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

