Summer Solstice Celebration Day 9: Danielle Young, author of Guided (Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway)

In Libris Veritas'

Day 9! Today I have Danielle Young, whose name might seem familiar to you! She runs the book blog Consuming Worlds and is on her way to releasing her debut novel, Guided! I’m honored to have been able to get an interview with her and share a little portion of her book. So please leave some love for Danielle!

interviewbanner

 

Welcome to the blog Danielle!! 

Wow, my first interview as an author! Holy smokes. I have to admit it feels a little weird. I’m used to being the one behind the questions, but I can totally do this.

Guided is your first novel, (I’m super excited for you!) what made you decide to take that leap and want to publish a book?

Thanks, it’s all very nerve racking. When I originally sat down to write Guided, I had no intention of publishing. I was writing for me. I just wanted to see if I could do it. It wasn’t until well after a year later that I decided to give publishing a try. Of course with the not so gentle push from my family.

Can you describe Guided in one sentence?

Um, no. I can’t even describe it in a couple of paragraphs. 😉

Lol, fair enough! What inspired you to write it? 

I have always dabbled with writing. I used to hide in my closet and write little stories all night with my best friend. Of course I lost that love of writing when writing became a necessity. But thanks to reading I have become inspired to pick it up again.

I’m so glad you did! Guided is the first book in a series, do you know how long it will be?

Actually I don’t. I didn’t intend for it to be a series at first, but the characters had something else in mind.

I know how that goes! So many authors talk about characters that run away with the story. I know you’ve been hard at work on Guided, what do you think has been the most difficult part of writing it?

LOL… there are a lot of difficult moments. But I think the hardest part of actually writing the story is writing it. There was a moment that I hated my story so much that I actually considered deleting everything and starting over. But thanks to a great friend and author, Steven Montano I didn’t. He gave me the best advice ever… I can’t remember what he said word for word, but the jist was that I can fix it when it’s done, but the key was that I had to actually finish. It was that advice that kept me going, even when I thought the story was complete and total crap.

I like to equate writing a book to this great Tangled picture I found on Pinterest. Sums up all the feelings nicely.

10390401_758153744229053_3857824591327828489_n

The hardest part now is editing. I hate editing. A LOT! I think it’s evil.

*Snorts* I love that picture and it’s so true! Do you have any writing habits? (Ex: snacks, writing candles, music, etc.)

I do actually. Before I sit down to write I have to have everything set in place. My notes, my calendar, my blogging stuff—because you never know what will happen while you are supposed to be writing, my drink—I prefer Mountain Dew, but really any caffeine will do. And music. The music has to be perfect though. So I spend quite a bit of time on Spotify searching their discover music section trying to find just the right music to get the juices flowing. Usually it’s instrumental, but sometimes I like to have words. Once I have all that set and ready I can finally write. Well that is if Twitter and Facebook don’t distract me. 😉

I love listening to music on Spotify when I’m writing…I also love Pinterest inspiration boards. The only downfall is your more likely to look for pictures for hours than actually write. 😛

If you could sit down and chat with one author (living or dead) who would you choose?

I can’t answer that question because I can’t choose just one. There are a group of authors I would die to meet or have lunch with, so for argument sake I am just going to say mums the word.

Do you have a favorite character from your story? How about least favorite?

Hehe, a favorite huh? That would be Jasper. He is the MC’s Angel. He is loyal, funny, powerful and has more than a few tricks up his sleeve.

And I can’t tell you who my least favorite is because that would give too much away. You will just have to read it and see if you can find out for yourself.

Any advice for aspiring authors?

DO IT! Simple as that. If you want to write, do it. You don’t have to publish it, you don’t have to show it to anyone, just do it for you. Once the story is done you can decide what to do with it. Oh and another thing. Get out of your own way. I spend way too much time in my head over thinking everything. Stop it. Now if I could only take my own advice!

Okay let’s do some quick questions! 

Writing or typing?

Both. I have written Guided both ways. Sometimes I get stuck and have to write it out.

Favorite books or current read?

EEK! I have a lot of favorites, but one of them is The Protector Series by M.R. Merrick

Ooh! I’ve read the first book, Exiled, and loved it! I really need to continue it.

Favorite genre?

Fantasy… any kind, any age group

YES! Totally agree!

Truth or dare? (I usually always pick truth, lol)

Truth, I’m a chicken.

Hobbies?

Drawing, reading, blogging, playing video games, baking

Thank you for joining me today Danielle! I’m so excited for you and you’re new book! 

Thank you so much for having me Michelle! Thanks for being my first interrogator 😉

 

About Danielle Young

8105776Danielle is a passionate reader who devours world’s one book at a time, a food enthusiast and High School Culinary Arts teacher. She is obsessed with books, food and cupcakes and blogs about them for the world to see at Consuming Worlds and Culinary Brainchild.

Danielle lives in New Mexico where she shares her food creations and bookish dreams with 6 of the greatest men of all time, her husband and 5 wonderful boys.

Website / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

 

About Guided

88fa4-guidedcoverJo’s life is in danger. And she doesn’t even know it.

A descendant from one of the worlds most powerful Wiccan families, she is hunted by a powerful warlock desperate to destroy her family line.

Kept in the dark, it isn’t until she comes of age and her powers awaken that Jo is made aware of the danger she’s in.

GUIDED by her Angel protector, and best friends, Jo will have to learn to harness her powers before she loses everything.

Add to Goodreads

Excerpt from Guided

“By the way, my name’s Jasper.” He grinned and extended his hand to me.

“Jo, nice to meet you,” I took his hand with a smile. The minute we touched, what felt like electricity traveled up my arm making my skin tingle and my head fuzzy. The sensation spread over my body until every inch of my skin felt like it was buzzing. My vision blurred. I closed my eyes and shook my head to try and clear the fog. When I opened my eyes the fuzziness was gone.

I was no longer sitting under my favorite tree, but instead I was at a beautiful lake.

 

Giveaway

– One ebook of Guided

You will receive the copy after the book has been released

International

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer Solstice Celebration Day 9: Danielle Young, author of Guided (Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway)

  1. y311er says:

    This is still too weird! Thanks again for having me on your blog! I had a lot of fun 🙂

    Thanks for all your support. 😀

  2. Oh i hadn’t heard of this author before but lovely interview! I’m going to have to check out her book!

  3. Congrats on publishing, it is wonderful to follow your dreams. Thanks for sharing Guided

  4. Fun interview! I love the Tangled meme 🙂 Guided looks really interesting. I’m glad you featured it – I hadn’t heard of it before.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

