Review: Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh

Lark RisingSource: Random House Kids –  I recieved this in exchange for an honest review, I rreceivedno compensation
Publisher: Random House Kids
Series: –
Edition: Hardcover, 384 Pages
Genre: Young Adult High (Epic) Fantasy
Purchase: Amazon/ Barnes & Noble / Book Depository*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating:
 4/5

Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.
 
Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.

After months of not wanting to read anything, I was incredibly surprised when I picked up Lark Rising to read the first few pages and found myself halfway through the book before dinner time. Books that can re-ignite my love of reading are so hard to find, because I read everything and still remain picky, but Lark Rising kept my interest and had me fully invested.

Lark Carew is a sixteen year old who is happy to stay at home with her plants and helping her grandmother. However everything changes when she starts to receive signs that she is needed for something greater. What was supposed to be a trip to request help for an oncoming danger, turns into a battle for not just the village’s safety but the world’s. Lark learns of the delicate balance of the world and her role in it, and along with the riders she must make the first move in righting the wrongs that have fallen on Tarnec.

I loved that this is an easy to read Young Adult High Fantasy novel, because there seems to be so few that have quality story-telling behind them. Waugh introduces the lore and creatures in interesting ways, and avoids massive info dumps when at all possible. I loved getting to know more about the abilities that Lark and her cousin Evie have, and the fact that they play into the larger overall picture. There are troll like creatures called Troths, gnomes, and a super creepy forest that I don’t think I’ll ever want to visit. One of my favorite portions of this book were the descriptions  and especially those dealing with one of an antagonist, which were really haunting and I have the desire to try and capture her creepy smile on paper.

I’m so glad I decided to dive right into this book right after opening the package because for the first time in months I actually WANT to read again. I definitely recommend grabbing this if you’re looking for a new fantasy series to start or know someone who enjoys high fantasy but hates to slough through 800 pages of description.

4 stars

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2014) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review: Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh

  1. The quality story telling sounds great and glad it was a good choice when you dove back into

  2. I’ve never even heard of this book but it sounds good and I’m always up for a high fantasy!

  3. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one 😀 I love fantasy–especially high fantasy but also magic so depends. I love how great the story-telling looks and when descriptions are good then it’s perfect heh. Great review! And, by the way, would you recommend buying this in hardcover?

  4. Lauren says:

    Great review! I’m going to be putting this on my tbr list! 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s