Blog Tour: Interview with Heather Hildenbrand, author of Imitation

Blog Tour Imitation1

Today I have the pleasure of being a part of the blog tour for Imitation! I have the awesome aauthorHeather Hildenbrand on the blog today to answer a few of my questions. Please feel free to check out the other stops on the tour and definitely check out Heather’s social media page. She posts a lot of pictures from her awesome adventures!

interviewbanner

Hi  Heather, welcome to In Libris Veritas!! So let’s jump right in and get to know you and your book!

Can you describe Imitation in one sentence?

A copy of a girl who wishes she were her own person—and free—and able to be with her hot motorcycle boyfriend without people trying to kill her. Hmm. I guess I suck at 1-sentence descriptions.

Authors are always talking about the weird things they research when writing a book, did you have to look up anything out of the box for Imitation?

Cloning and genetic engineering. Which is weird for ME since I didn’t understand a lot of the terms used and had to Wikipedia like every 3rd word.

What are some of your favorite reads?

Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, Fault in our Stars by John Green, anything by Nora Roberts. I don’t read a ton of Sci-Fi which is technically what Imitation’s category is. I don’t like the “tech-speak” of it—which is why there’s not a lot of that in Imitation!

If you could sit down and chat with any author (living or dead) who would you choose?

Nora Roberts. I want to hear her “making it” story. I look up to her. Or maybe Sylvia Day. I respect her business-mind a lot too.

Do you have any writing rituals? Like certain snacks, music, or places?

Quiet. And other than that, the ritual is that I change it up. If I sit in the same place too long, I feel stagnant in my inspiration. So, sometimes I sit at the table and sometimes the couch. I know, so different. It’s weird but it works.

It’s totally not weird at all! I don’t like writing in the same place all of the time either, some times being outside works better than being at a desk.

When you’re not writing what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Motorcycles! And adventuring. And traveling.

Are there any songs that remind you of Imitation?

She’s So Mean by Matchbox Twenty is Taylor’s theme song! And this song Hannah by Freelance Whales reminds me of Linc & Ven.

Everyone can check out the music video for She’s So Mean below! 

What inspired you to start writing?

The NEED for escape from reality. IN a big way. And the compulsion to make up worlds.

Are any of your characters from Imitation based off of real people?

Hmm. Some of the characters remind me of the world of Gossip Girl. The money and parties and stuff. But real people? Not really.

If you could have a superpower what would you choose?

FLYING! Fo SHO.

I somehow knew you would pick flying! It definitely seems like a power that would fit your awesome life right now. 

Thank you so much for answering my questions Heather and I wish you all the best with your books!!

About Imitation

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face.

Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?

Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1wJ0eyg

 

Purchase

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Imitation-Heather-Hildenbrand-ebook/dp/B00LXCMUKC

 

About the Author:

Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. (She’s only slightly socially awkward as a result.) Since 2011, she’s published more than eight YA & NA novels including the bestselling Dirty Blood series. She splits her time between coastal Virginia and the island of Guam and loves having a mobile career and outrageous lifestyle of living in two places. Her most frequent hobbies are riding motorcycles and avoiding killer slugs.

Heather is also a publishing and success coach bent on equipping and educating artists who call themselves authors. She loves teaching fellow writers how to create the same freedom-based lifestyle she enjoys. For more information visit www.phoenixauthorink.com and find out how to create your own Outrageous Life.

She is represented by Rebecca Friedman. You can find out more about Heather and her books at www.heatherhildenbrand.com.

Or find her here:

Facebook ~ Facebook Fan Page ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Newsletter

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Tour: Interview with Heather Hildenbrand, author of Imitation

  1. Christy says:

    LOL, okay, now I definitely need to meet Taylor. When that song came out, I had 5 people, including my ex and my damn mom, tell me it was my song. Assholes. 😉

  2. Sounds like an interesting book. Loving the Gossip Girl comparison!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

