Review: Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

Mortal DangerSource: Ann Aguirre – I recieved this book in exchange for an honest review. I received no compensations.
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Series: Immortal Game
Edition: ARC, 384 Pages
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Horror
Purchase: Amazon/ Barnes & Noble / Book Depository*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating:
 3.5/5

Revenge is a dish best served cold.

Edie Kramer has a score to settle with the beautiful people at Blackbriar Academy. Their cruelty drove her to the brink of despair, and four months ago, she couldn’t imagine being strong enough to face her senior year. But thanks to a Faustian compact with the enigmatic Kian, she has the power to make the bullies pay. She’s not supposed to think about Kian once the deal is done, but devastating pain burns behind his unearthly beauty, and he’s impossible to forget.

In one short summer, her entire life changes, and she sweeps through Blackbriar, prepped to take the beautiful people down from the inside. A whisper here, a look there, and suddenly… bad things are happening. It’s a heady rush, seeing her tormentors get what they deserve, but things that seem too good to be true usually are, and soon, the pranks and payback turns from delicious to deadly. Edie is alone in a world teeming with secrets and fiends lurking in the shadows. In this murky morass of devil’s bargains, she isn’t sure who—or what–she can trust. Not even her own mind…

Mortal Games is a creepy twist on the ‘be careful what you wish for’ idiom and one that I find myself torn over. The overall story is pretty good and I loved the inclusion of  all of the paranormal and horror aspects…but the main character made me want to scream.

When we start the book Edie is on the low in of life and ready to opt out, but she’s given the chance to turn things around with what seems to be a simple deal. She gets three wishes and they get to call in their favor whenever they want, easy. She wants to get revenge and those three wishes are perfect…until she discovers just how deeply things go and she finds herself growing closer to people around her. I loved seeing the horrible things that skulk in the dark and their outlook on life, but some of it bordered on silly at times though it was a rare occurrence. The story does move quickly at first but it slows down quite a bit as Edie falls in to her new life, so adjusting to pace was a bit of a trail in itself.

The other problem I had was Edie. I liked her toward the beginning. She was intelligent and completely analytical about everything…but as soon as she changes the way she looks she also seems to change her thinking. She suddenly decides relying on numbero uno is the best option. I’m all for a strong self-reliant main character, but there is a level of common sense that is needed for that. When dealing with monsters talk to the people who know monsters…seriously…There is a touch of insta-love, which I was able to move past but it’s there.

Regardless of my issues I actually did enjoy the storyline and I loved Aguirre’s writing style, so I’ll be reading the second one when it comes out!

3.5 stars

This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2014) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

  1. Christy says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one. I dnf’d it, Edie bugged me way too much.

  2. Alicia♥ says:

    I shied away from Moral Danger when it came out (i’m bad at horror), and well, the reviews haven’t been all that glowing so I haven’t seen much need to grab it asap! The concept seems unique but… but… i’m such a wimp lol. why isn’t there a way to solve the mystery without reading the book!

    Alicia @ Noverly Things

  3. I was really excited for this one, but I just didn’t care for Edie so I put it aside. I will go back to it before I give up on it. Glad you enjoyed it.

  4. Lauren says:

    I’m planning on reading this one in the future! 🙂

  5. Sounds like good storyline even with some issues

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

