Read Play Blog #4 – Halloween Characters I Would Love to Be

Read-Play-Blog-2

Read Play Blog is a meme about video games and books, posted every 16th of the month. Bloggers are encouraged to answer a discussion question, and recommend a video game that is similar to a book they liked. Hosted by Happy Indulgence Books & Read Me Away.

Video Games for Halloween

portal

Chell from Portal 

Chell is the main character of the Portal games. We hardly ever see her, except in reflections and through the portal we create, and she never talks. She is the not-so-willing tester in Aperture Sciences facility and she is epic. This is one of the few games that produce emotion without ever trying to…or seeming to try to.

I already own a full size portal gun, that lights up and makes noise. I just need the tank top, pants, and boots. If I can get a companion cube then all will be well in the world.

270px-Batman_arkham_knight_harley_quinn_by_ivances-d7b0qa11

Harley Quinn  from Arkham Knights

Arkham Knights is not out yet, but the trailer has long been out and I’m in love with Harley’s outfit yet again! I’ve been Harley twice now, in her original costume and her Arkham City outfit. But this one is so cute and I can’t wait to see her be her ‘normal’ crazy self.

Recommendation for the Month – Wolf Among Us

wolf_among_us.0_cinema_640.0

The Wolf Among Us by Telltale Games is one of my more recent favorites! It’s an episodic ‘point & click’ type adventure that puts you in the heart of the comic series Fables, which is the story of the fairy tale characters who have been displaced from their world and have been forced to hide in New York.

You play as Bigby Wolf (Big B Wolf…get it? lol) and play the role of sheriff. Murders start happening and it’s up the Wolf to figure out why, but things are much more complicated than he or anything thought.

The first two seasons are done and you can play through all 10 episodes now. After the amazing ending of season two I can’t wait to see what happens in season three.

Currently Playing – Shadows of Mordor

middleearth_shadow_of_mordor_15

I was playing Destiny…but then I realized there was no depth and no real gameplay to be had so I gave up on it and traded it in. (Which should be noted that I NEVER do). But now I’m playing a much better game!

Shadows of Mordor tellls the story of a captain of the Black Gate, Talion, who has been cursed to walk a half-life due to the Hand of Sauron. He is now ‘attached’ to a elven wraith who does not remember who he is. The game is very much the story of the wraith, and not so much Talion, and it’s fantastic to see how each little bit unfolds as you continue forward.

This is not canon of course, which is sort of sad, but parts of it are and it’s really awesome to see those being played out. The game play is very much similar to Arkham Asylum and Assasins Creed, but in some ways it does things better than those two games. There is an elaborate enemy system which allows for repeated rivals who can return to fight you disfigured from your last battle.

Definitely worth checking out!

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Read Play Blog #4 – Halloween Characters I Would Love to Be

  1. Chell! 😀 So happy to see the Portal love this month! Omg, you have a portal gun?? Definitely so jealous. 🙂 I’m also so happy to see Harley Quinn on your list because I have mad love for that character.

    Wolf Among Us looks so cool, and the pun name of Bigby Wolf just sold me. 😛

    Thanks for participating, Michelle!

  2. I’m still trying to play Destiny. I enjoy it, but I’m on the 360 and EVERYONE else I know is on a next gen console, so I’m playing alone, which is fairly frustrating. I got to play with someone else briefly and it was really fun. But, I’m not sure I’ll finish it out on my own. Which is fine. I’ve got Dragon Age to replay before next month.

  3. I’d so love to be Harley Quinn!

  4. Yay, thanks for joining in this week, very exciting that we both picked Chell as a character to cosplay as! She’s awesome and totally memorable, I love her so much (which is interesting, as we haven’t seen or heard from her officially). How awesome you own a Portal Gun as well!

    Oh, I thought The Wolf Among Us only had 1 season done so far? I don’t know if they’re going to continue it, because they said TBC in the comics. I loved the series so much, it was so epic! I would have liked to see more.

    The bf is playing Destiny at the moment but I think he said it was similar to Borderlands, he was interested in Shadows of Mordor though. Sounds like you are enjoying it!

    • Lol, oops. I think I was thinking of The Walking Dead when I said two seasons. I think season two is due sometime next year, but there hasn’t been much of a confirmation. I definitely want there to be more though.

      Yeah, Destiny is similar to a lot of games. I was good at it since it’s the same as Halo as far as guns and controls go. It had elements of Mass Effect, Phantasy Star, Borderlands, and Halo…but I found the storyline to be severely lacking and the drop system was infuriating. I finished the story in a couple of days and then had nothing to do but kill the same stuff over and over for bounties. So I just gave up and traded it in for a gift card, lol.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

