Reading & Ranting: New Bookish Goals for a New Year!

readingranting

Happy New Year!

I am so glad that 2014 is behind me. It was such a rollercoaster and if it had a face then I would have basically mauled it. Needless to say I want 2015 to be much better. I don’t do resolutions for my personal life, or nothing that truly impacts the way I feel about myself. I find that having goals for myself tends to put a damper on how I feel, especially when I can’t complete them. So i keep it simple.

Personal Goals

  • Learn Something New – I’ve done this two years in a row and it’s a lot of fun. It’s also open enough that as long as it falls into a “skill” category it works. In 2013 I learned how to knit. In 2014 I learned how to skateboard and make crafts from old books. So this year I’m pretty excited to see what else I pick up.
  • Be Social – This one is purposefully vague as well. I have social anxiety so this is a tough one, but one that as long as I try I will succeed at. I want to make new friends and be able to enjoy having conversations with people.

Bookish Goals

  • Get Back into Blogging – Blogging has been sort of a chore lately…which most people can probably tell because if my posts go up they are not as frequent or later in the day. So I’m hoping to get back to the point of having things scheduled well ahead of time.
  • Read more LGBT books
  • Read more Indie Books – I read a lot of these already, but I want to read more! Most of the books I own are indies, so I need to make more time for them.

Challenges for the New Year

2015 LGBT Challenge

LGBTChallenge2015

I’m going to try and read 3 to 10 LGBT books in any genre this year.

COYER 2015

coyer_winter14-15

If anyone knows of a challenge for UtopYA goers let me know! I want to read a lot of books from authors going to the 2015 UtopYA convention, and would love to have a group to chat with. 

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reading & Ranting: New Bookish Goals for a New Year!

  1. I don’t really make resolutions either. Mine this year were way vague… be a better me. Simple. All it entails is being better than I was in 2014. Especially in blogging. I totally fell slack on blogging last year and this year I want to be better. I just stopped posting. Heck I even stopped reading. I only read 4 books in the last 4 months and 2 of them were on the 30th and 31st of December!

    I am totally with you on your goal of more blogging! I know you can do it!

  2. Christy says:

    I don’t do resolutions either, so I’m right with ya. I think the learn something new goal is great. I’ve always enjoyed learning to do new things, but maybe I should step it up and go for something challenging. Good luck on your challenges, Michelle. And Happy New Year!!

  3. lab1990 says:

    I like that your personal goals are a bit vague. The one about learning something new is so cool! I think more people should do that. And being social can be difficult. I have social anxiety too; it’s not as bad as it was, but it’s still hard to meet new people. I wish you the best of luck!

    I want to read more LGBT fiction too. I read a lot, but there are a lot of books that have come out in the past couple years that I never got too.

    -lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  4. Angie F. says:

    I always tell myself that I’m going to learn a new skill or something, but I never do! I really need to do this sometime, because it never hurts to try something new.

    I’m also pledging to read more LGBT books! 😀

  5. Leona says:

    You set pretty realistic goals, not likely to be swept under the carpet after 1-2 months. Kudos on that! Reading and reviewing more indie books is also a goal of mine, along wish finishing my own novel and getting it ready for publication, and reading quite a few series in my TBR stack – it has grown out of control and needs to be consumed!

  6. I love your idea of learning something new. I like goals that are positive and fun which this one totally is. Good luck with your goals and I hope you get your love of blogging back in 2015 also.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

