Mini Read Reviews – Hired Gun by A.J. Bennett & First Position by Melody Grace

Minireadreview

Mini-Read Review is a feature created here on In Libris Veritas in order to showcase the reviews for short stories and novellas which so often get overlooked.

contentwarning

Hired Gun by A.J. Bennett

Hired GunSource: Purchased
Publisher: 

Series:
 The Sicarii Serial #1
Edition: 
Ebook, 43 pages
Genre: 
Paranormal Romance Serial
Purchase: 
Amazon*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating: 
4/5

Tall, dark, and sexy as hell, Thorne Hollow knows the power he holds over the opposite sex and how to use it.

Cast out by the gods thousands of years ago, he roams the earth working as an assassin for The Sicarii, a secret society who protects humans from all of the things that go bump in the night.

Long ago, Thorne made the mistake of falling in love with a human, and her death stripped him bare. Now he is destined to live a life of solitude. One night stands are his way of life … until he meets a mysterious woman whose intriguing power compels him to uncover more about her and the strange magic she wields.

Hired Gun is a paranormal thriller, with a whole lot of steam. Thorne is the grandson of a very well known hero in Greek mythology, but has been banished by the gods because of his blatant disregard for their rules. He’s not one to settle down and doesn’t look for lasting relationship ships, he’s very much a one-night stand sort of guy. This novella basically introduces us to Thorne, his past, and the way he navigates his world. I can’t say Thorne is my favorite type of guy. He’s sexy and he knows it, and he forms absolutely no attachments making him a tough one to get to know. I really liked the fact that he is an hit man who goes after criminals. I also love the added mythology and creatures which make his world much more interesting. I’m definitely curious about the new woman in her life and why she gets under his skin so badly.

This is a promising start to a novella serial!

4 stars

First Position by Melody Grace

First Position

Source: Purchased
Publisher: 

Series:
 Dirty Dancing #1
Edition: 
Ebook, 83 pages
Genre: 
Contemporary Romance Serial
Purchase: 
Amazon*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating:
 3/5

“A man dances the same way he f*#ks. His stamina, his rhythm, the slow grind of his hips. Some people are born to it, others learn through years of careful study.

And dancers? We f*#k best of all.”

The moment I saw her, I knew. Her innocence is intoxicating. My lust is fierce. Primal.

To watch her dance is to know the torment of true temptation.

She will be mine.

*Part one of a sexy, seductive new romance serial*

First Position is the first novella in the contemporary romance serial, Dirty Dancing. The main character Annalise is a ballerina, and is in Rome to try and finally break into the professional ballet scene. The program is intense and her mother is very much forcing the lifestyle on her. I liked the ballet parts, because I’ve always found it to be a passionate type of dance despite the rigid practice schedules and forms. She meets Rafael, a street dancer, and her inhibitions sort of fly out the window. I had some issue with their relationship because of how mindless she became as soon as she laid eyes on him, and how she immediately puts her position in the company in danger just for a bit of time spent with him. I totally get that he’s dreamy and moves like some sort of sex god, but some stuff made me roll my eyes because it wasn’t a good idea to begin with. That a long with the “I’m totally innocent, teach me everything” angle made some of this sort of cliche. However there was plenty of steam and I’m really curious to see how her time with the ballet company plays out, and I’m hoping to see some positive body image dialogue in the future. I definitely see the promise in this one.
3 star
This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2015) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

