Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Release I Meant to Read….But Didn’t

Top

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

  • Prince Lestat by Anne Rice – Another book I’ve had since it came out. I did start this one, but it felt odd and I put it down.
  • Free to Fall by Lauren Miller – I’ve started this one too and really liked how it was going, but I think I was simply over dystopian novels at that time
  • Crane by Stacey Rourke – I found this one when I was working publicity and fell in love with the cover & synopsis, and that opening chapter is fantastic.

  • Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi – I have something against reading the last book in a series it seems…I’ve had this for a long time and i still haven’t touched it.
  • Maul: Lockdown by Joe Schreiber – My boyfriend bought this for me because I’m a  Darth Maul fangirl, and I have read the first two chapters (which were amazing). I’m just a bit pissed off at Star Wars right now. (*insert cussing about Disney here*)
  • Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson – I really wanted to read this last year but since I started Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin I just couldn’t find the time to put another 1000+ page fantasy novel on the list.

  • Catalyst by S.J. Kincaid – Another ending to a series that I haven’t touched even though I love the books. I plan on reading this with the boyfriend, so once he’s ready to get started I’ll get my copy.
Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Release I Meant to Read….But Didn’t

  1. Briana says:

    I haven’t gotten around to Mortal Heart either. I LOVED the first book in the series but felt the second was lackluster–and that somewhat dimmed my enthusiasm to finish the trilogy. Otherwise I think I would have purchased Mortal Heart the day it came out!

  2. I need to read Ruin and Rising too… I even have a signed copy and some swag to giveaway when I get to posting my review. I suppose I should probably bump it up the list haha.
    Great list 🙂
    Cora @ Tea Party Princess

  3. christine danielle says:

    Great List! I also loved how you put your list this week.

    My Top Ten Tuesday!

  4. The Silkworm was great- hope you get to it soon!

  5. Angel says:

    I missed out on Catalyst as well! Great list.

  6. lab1990 says:

    You have to read The Silkworm! I loved it; it’s almost better than the first, in my opinion.

    Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  7. Angie F. says:

    Ignite Me is my favoritest!!! I also really enjoyed Free to Fall. I still need to read Mortal Heart, but I haven’t even read Dark Triumph yet. Oops.

  8. I also let Ruin and Rising slip over into 2015, as well as Jackaby and The Retribution of Mara Dyer, but I am even worse; I have two highly anticipated in 2013 titles still to be read: Dance of the Red Death and the last G. Zevin chocolate book! I really want to read Prince Lestat, I love Rice vampires (they were the only vamp stories I liked until I found M.R. Graham). Everyone keeps telling me to jump on the Sanderson train, but I don’t see me having the time for a long while. I did get a free audiobook of his, but someone told me it was only a novella. Oh well, at least it will be enough to let me know if I like his writing. Thanks again for stopping by my humble blog!

    • I still have a ton of 2013 books to read too…heh, I’m pretty far behind on pretty much everything at this point. I love Anne Rice’s vampires too, definitely one of my favorite series. I’m a vampire snob, so while I do read pretty much everything I get pretty picky on which ones I enjoy.
      YES! We always have more room on the Sanderson train! He’s written a ton of books…I think he has like 8 series out right now. Most are epic(high) fantasy, but he also writes Science Fiction and even has a few Young Adult series out there. I’ve read The Way of Kings, Elantris, and his Reckoners series, all were fantastic and among my favorites.

  9. Oh, I want to read the whole Robin LaFevers series, and the Robert Galbraith books as well. And probably the Bardugo series, too! My list is entirely different – there were a LOT of good books I didn’t get to this year. Good luck fitting these in during 2015 – I hope you enjoy them all!

  10. Maria P says:

    There are so many that you have on your list that are on mine too. There’s just never enough time when there are so many good books to read! 🙂

  11. Free to Fall and Ruin and Rising are ones I couldn’t get to either. I still plan to read both this year! Hope you have time for all of yours.

  12. I can’t wait to get to The Silkworm and Mortal Heart either. I enjoyed Free to Fall though as I loved the technology in it.

  13. I bought Mortal Heart when it came out and haven’t read it either. I saw Words of Radiance at the library last night and oh my goodness is that book huge! You’ll enjoy these when you have a chance to get to them! 🙂

  14. Cynthia says:

    Great list! I read Free To Fall last year and loved it!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

