Product Review: Candles from Frostbeard Studios

productreviewToday I wanted to share a new obsession of mine and don’t worry, these are totally book related! Last year when I opened my bookstore my mother’s boss brought me a present with four of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. Book Candles from Frostbeard Studios! I was a fan before I even lit them. So I wanted to review the four I got and hopefully entice you to buy some for yourself.

candles

 

I received Trashy Romance Novel, Oxford Library, Old Books, and The Shire!

These candles are made with soy wax so they burn clean and are eco-friendly (yay!), and even better is that since it’s soy you can reuse the glass jars later with no residue problems. Each candle burns for about 65 hours.

Trashy Romance Novel is Frostbeard’s answer to scents like Love Spell from Victoria Secret. When you open the jar it hits your nose immediately and if you’re not fond of fruity/floral scents you might be put off. However the candle burns at a much muter scent level and it doesn’t just hang in the air, so it’s actually a very nice scent.

Oxford Library is oakmoss, amber, sandalwood, with slight hints of tobacco and leather. They even have it described as a “freshly showered Sherlock”, um yes please! I wasn’t fond of this one at first, but it definitely does smell like a room full of aged leatherbound books. It’s not a scent that I necessarily “love” because of the slight moss smell too it, but I do really like the the way it makes a room full of bookshelves smell.

Old Books is probably my favorite of the bunch because I’m always a fan of smelling old paperbacks. The scents used are timber, newsprints, white tea, and must. I love the inviting smell this one has and I burn this one the most often.

The Shire is my second favorite! This one includes the scents oakmoss, clover, aloe, and hint of sweet cherry pipe tobacco. This candle makes me homesick of a land I’ve never been to. If anyone were to ask me what I thought The Shire smelled like I would give them this candle, it’s so perfect. You can easily picture the grass and flowers near the river, and see Merry and Pippin smoking a bit of pipe weed.

Overall I’m in love with these and I fully plan on buy more. If you have a booklover in your family, this makes for the perfect gift. They are a bit pricey at $16 for a 8 oz candle, but I think they are totally worth it and will last you quite a while. They also have tea-light sample packs and wax tarts for burners. And the fandom selection is fantastic! They have Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Narnia and more.

Frostbeard Studios

 

Image | This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Product Review: Candles from Frostbeard Studios

  1. I’m definitely going to look into getting some for my office!

  2. Maria P says:

    Thanks for your review! I’ve seen these on etsy, and had yet to know anyone who had tried them. I’ve been so curious about them.

  3. Oh man, I absolutely LOVE etailer scents and products, thanks for sharing this one! I’m kind of glad postage to Aus is usually expensive otherwise I would be BUYING THEM ALL.

  4. Cayce says:

    Ahhh, I want these ALL, but especially Old Books. 🙂

  5. I just picked up Old Books. Phew! They’re a bit pricey but I’m sure they are worth it. Plus I’ve really been wanting Old Books since I first heard of these candles!! I really wanted the Shire too but I can only burn one candle at a time. 😉

    I’m so glad you reviewed these because while I’ve seen these candles around, I’ve never heard any one say how they liked them!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

