Top Ten Tuesdays: Fantasy Books I Still Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

Top

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I’m a big time fantasy reader. I love super thick fantasy novels that I can get lost in for days, and it’s even better if it’s a part of a series. But there are still some books I’ve yet to get to and I know I should.

  • The Return of the King by J.R.R Tolkien – I adore the entirety of Middle Earth! I know so many random facts and even use to be able to babble at people in Elvish in high school. But I haven’t read the last part of The Lord of the Rings.  FAIL
  • Inheritance by Christopher Paolini – I feel like this book took ages to come out and by the time it did I didn’t feel like opening up a huge book in a series I barely remembered. I’ve had it since release day, but haven’t read it
  • Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson – I love Sanderson’s work, but I haven’t read Mistborn yet and I can’t figure out why.

  • Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor – This came out and some how I didn’t buy a copy, and I still haven’t read it.
  • Homeland by R.A. Salvatore  – Salvatore is one of those names that carries weight in the epic fantasy world, and I’ve never read anything by him. (though I have played a video game, which was awesome).
  • The Gunslinger by Stephen King – *sighs* I’ve had this for ages. There is something about Stephen King’s writing that puts me to sleep…seriously…I can’t read anything by him without becoming extremely tired and falling asleep before I even get past the first chapter.

  • Pandora by Anne Rice – I’ve had this a very long time too, but I’ve never picked it up. I read the Vampire Chronicles in high school and when I graduated I sort of never picked up the New Tales.
Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Top Ten Tuesdays: Fantasy Books I Still Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

  1. Teresa says:

    I haven’t read most of these, but you should definitely finish the Inheritance Cycle – it seems a shame to leave it unfinished! I remember waiting for so long for it to come out and I had to reread the rest of the series before I could get to the final book. It was worth it though and I’ve reread them since (on audiobook – so maybe that’s cheating, in a way!).

    I would also highly recommend Sabriel – it’s well-loved for a reason. It’s also fairly short compared to a lot of fantasy books, so shouldn’t take too long. 🙂

  2. I haven’t read a lot of high fantasy books but I really want to read Laini Taylor’s books.

    My Top Ten Tuesday http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/top-ten-tuesday-1.html

  3. y311er says:

    I haven’t read any of them except Return of the King. 😀

    There areason a fee I want to read though.

  4. Christy says:

    I’ve been increasing my fantasy stash lately, and have enjoyed all the ones I’ve read so far. Laini Taylor is an author I especially want to read.

  5. I need to read a couple of these books too LOL!! Here is my Top Ten Tuesday if you wanna check it out 🙂 http://bookbabble.weebly.com/blog/top-ten-tuesday1

  6. My son and I read the first Inheritance book and liked it, but the second one we both dnfed. I loved the first three Vampire Chronicals books by Anne Rice. I tried two other of her series and never finished the first book in either one. Strange how that will happen with an author. I have added Mistborn to my tbr list, but I am not to sure when I will get to it. I am still struggling to find time for the Throne of Glass series.

    • Anne Rice is an author I’ve learned to make specific time for. If I pick up one of her books at the wrong moment it will take me 10 times longer to get through, and where most people would dnf it I would be sitting there trying to slog through 3 page description of a street at night.

  7. I’ve read pretty much all of the Drizzt novels and loved them. Though I should warn you, Salvatore has this tendency to not kill off characters that need to die…I think he gets overly attached. 😛

    I just bought the Mistborn books and can’t wait to start them!

  8. Angie F. says:

    As much as I loved DoSaB and DoBaS, that finale was super disappointing. I am so sad that I didn’t like it. It was just long and boring and confusing.

    I really liked Graceling though! I may need to reread it before continuing the series, since it’s been a few years and I can’t remember anything.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

