Read Play Blog: Single Player or Multiplayer?

Read-Play-Blog-2

Read Play Blog is a meme about video games and books, posted every 16th of the month. Bloggers are encouraged to answer a discussion question, and recommend a video game that is similar to a book they liked. Hosted byHappy Indulgence Books & Read Me Away.

This month’s topic is:

“Do you prefer multiplayer or singleplayer games?”

This answer is really easy, singleplayer. There are only a few exceptions to this.

I’m awful at multiplayer games that involve some sort of PVP or group goal, I tend to be the one lowest on the points list. The only times I’ve ever been absolutely fantastic as something was in the Assassin’s Creed multiplayer (Brotherhood and Revelations), Call of Duty: World at War, Mass Effect 3, and Gotham City Imposters. AC games required a more personal approach to things like capture the flag or hunting, and I was incredibly good at countering attacks and getting away. World at War came out ages ago and I was beasty at it, something about using bolt-action rifles brought out the FPS player in me…which I have never gotten back. Mass Effect 3 had an epic multiplayer side, and once I got my Geth Juggernaut I was unstoppable. GCI was just crazy and I’m pretty sure most of it was dumb luck. All other games are basically matches devoted to killing my character, and me in an utter panic because I’m positive everyone is judging me.

I do however LOVE games with multiplayer storylines. It’s super rare that games even have multiplayer campaign anymore, and that’s really unfortunate. Which is why I tend to love MMO’s so much, they offer that option and allow me to continue on by myself if another person can’t play right away.

Recommendation

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

Even though I prefer singleplayer games I felt it easier to mention a multiplayer one instead…because there are a ton of single-player games I adore. I love all of the game styles in this one. I love the stealth and the strategy involved, and I love playing free-for-alls and group attacks. It was a really well rounded set up.

Currently Playing

At this point it would be easier to list what I’m NOT playing.

dai

I downloaded the 6 hour demo a couple of days ago…and then it ended before I could even save my progress…so I bought the game while it was on sale. Now all I can think about is going home and playing it. My character looks like Daenerys with a pony tail and I’m pretty sure I’m in love with every single party member I have so far.

Scribblenauts  Unlimited – I love these games! It’s so much fun to be able to come up with different ways to solve problems…or solving them on accident. I bought it through Steam so I’m also enjoying the different mods people have made. 

Viscera Cleaning Detail – Another steam game. Have you ever wanted to be a janitor? No? Are you sure? Yeah… me either. This is a game about the janitors who are stuck cleaning up places the main characters destroys. I don’t even want to admit how many hours I spend cleaning up random body parts, refilling med-kits and mopping blood/green stuff off the floors. You can even play with other people.

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Read Play Blog: Single Player or Multiplayer?

  1. I am just now playing first installment of Dragon Age with hubby, but we have little to no time and splitting it with kingdom hearts

  2. It’s been awhile since I’ve played any games, but I always preferred single player games. I tried a multiplayer game once, felt like everyone was judging me, and had the lowest score. Way too much pressure! :p

    Terri @ Alexia’s Books and Such…

  3. LOL that Janitor game sounds completely random and dare I say soothing? Everyone seems to be addicted to DA: Inquisition at the moment, I know my bf played it for quite a few months. I need to get into one of these games! I actually didn’t know the AC games could be multiplayer. Thanks for participating this month Michelle!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

