Top Ten Tuesday: Most Inspiring Book Quotes

Top

Hosted by The Broke and Bookish

  • “Look again at that dot. That’s here. That’s home. That’s us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every “superstar,” every “supreme leader,” every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there-on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.”  – Pale Blue Dot, Carl Sagan (If you can see the small arrow and dot toward the bottom right, that’s Earth in a photo taken from Cassini.Humbling and amazing)
  • “The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.” – As You Like It, William Shakespeare
  • “Men have called me mad; but the question is not yet settled, whether madness is or is not the loftiest intelligence– whether much that is glorious– whether all that is profound– does not spring from disease of thought– from moods of mind exalted at the expense of the general intellect.” – Collected Poems, Edgar Allen Poe (This is a weird one, I know…but it’s a personal thing. I fight daily to make it so that mental illness does not define who I am, and many of the best things I’ve ever done have been a product of me trying to overcome and rise about them.)

  • “Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.” – A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin (If only I’d seent his quote years ago when I needed it the most)
  • Pretty much the entirety of Golden by Jessi Kirby
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Most Inspiring Book Quotes

  1. Such a great list, thank you so much for sharing. So awesome to see so much love for Game of Thrones and Harry Potter! And some Shakespeare!
    My TTT

  2. Great list! Your list is actually the first list I’ve come across with a Game of Thrones quote on it! Shakespeare’s just so quotable, isn’t he? 🙂 That’s a brilliant one.

  3. christine danielle says:

    I really like the quote on AS You Like It WIlliam Shakespeare ❤

    Top Ten Tuesday

  4. Shakespeare is the most quotable author to have ever existed and you picked a great one! I love that one and the one from Sagan definitely puts everything into perspective!

  5. Lauren says:

    We share some of the same authors, but not exactly the same quotes.

    Check out my TTT.

  6. Kay says:

    I like the quotes you shared – maybe especially the one by Poe. 🙂

  7. lab1990 says:

    I like the Poe quote – it really does show that mental illness should not define us. 🙂 And the Harry Potter quotes are great of course!

    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  8. lissiet says:

    I love all the HP quotes today!
    New follower 🙂
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  9. Great list! I love seeing Harry Potter on so many people’s lists and for the most part they are all different quotes too. Shows you the power of a good book. I really like the Edgar Allen Poe quote too. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

    My TTT
    Alex @ The Book Banner

  10. Sue Holmes says:

    The Game of Thrones quote on making your weakness your strength is great – but hard to do in practice 🙂 I have watched the series, but (hang head in shame) haven’t read the books yet!

    • It’s very hard to do, but it’s freeing when you do manage it. I fully believe in being self aware, I know my strengths & my weaknesses. I know my personality in and out. So when someone tries to use it against me, all I can do is smile and say “I know.” It takes a lot of self discovery, breakdowns, and building a pain tolerance.

      The books are fantastic, but super lengthy so I don’t blame you for not picking them up yet. 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.