Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ll Probably Never Read

Top

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Many of my readers know I don’t DNF books, except on super rare occasions. The way I classify a DNF is if I’ve made it to about 50 or 100 pages and decide to quit. I do occasionally read a few chapters before quitting, but I don’t consider that a big enough section to ‘know’ anything about the plot. Some of these are books I’ve started but put down almost immediately.

Part of me really hates saying I’ll probably never read something, because who knows…I’m liable to change my mind.

  • Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James –  The bad writing just killed my curiosity, and my curiosity is not easily retracted.
  • The Host by Stephenie Meyer – Twilight was enough. I know everyone swears it’s better and different, but honestly I don’t have time or energy to put into another Meyer mess. Harsh? Maybe, but life is too short.
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – I’ve heard it has gorgeous writing…but the topic is enough to make me sure I want no part in it.

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I tried reading this and every time I picked it up I fell asleep before I finished the page. After 4 days of trying on making it to like page 10 I just gave up. The subject matter is interesting, the hype is all over the place but I just didn’t connect with the writing style.
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – When I was looking for thrillers with unreliable narrators this one crossed my minds, but I ended up losing interest in it. The movie is fantastic, but I just don’t feel the need to  pick this up.
  • The Scorch Trials by James Dashner – After hating the main characters and not knowing what was going on in the first book I think I’m just going to sit this series out.

  • Books by James Frey – I want no part in what this man is selling…
Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ll Probably Never Read

  1. I agree with most of these, I cannot see myself ever picking up some of these books unfortunately! Great List.
    Happy Reading x

  2. Beth Whatley says:

    …. I quite liked The Host. It was quite different for me, but then I never read sci-fi, so that’s kind of inevitable. BUT I HATED GONE GIRL, so you’re right not to read it. The characters are hateful and horrible, so I didn’t care that they were all dying or whatever. Ew.
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

  3. Fifty Shades of Grey was on my list too (I have a feeling it’s going to be on a lot of lists this week!). It’s a shame you didn’t like The Book Thief, it’s one of my favourite books, but I won’t try and convince you to read it, since it’s clear you’ve tried and it’s just not for you, and that’s fine. I also really enjoyed Gone Girl, but it’s probably the sort of book that comes across better on screen anyway (and if you enjoyed the movie then that’s great). If you didn’t like The Maze Runner, you definitely won’t like the Scorch Trials.
    Nice list!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-3/

  4. Cait says:

    Omg, I have The Calling on my TBR and now I’m curious to what James Frey has done?! *whispers* How awful is it? Argh, I hate it when authors spoil their books by behaving badly/being dubious.
    Here’s my TTT!

    • It really just depends on how bothered you are about authors being jerks. Most of the time I overlook it, because their books could still be good…but I don’t agree with his business practices when it comes to the book industry. Plus he’s not above lying (in memoirs) to make extra money.

  5. I feel like I’m missing something. What’s the hate surrounding James Frey? You’re not the only one today that has said they refuse to read anything by him!

    • He’s done quite a few things actually, lol. He lied in his ‘memoir’ so that it would be more dramatic and sell better, but mostly I just don’t agree with his business practice or his fantasy factory. He’s fashioned himself as a literary Andy Warhol. I rarely care if an author is being a jerk, but this one just didn’t sit right with me.

  6. Great list! Fifty Shades made my list, too. I keep meaning to read The Host, one day I’ll get around to it…

  7. I wouldn’t read any of those either…Ok maybe scorch trials and End Game….But I probably never will.

  8. Angie F. says:

    Noooo! The Host is my faaavorite! It really is super, duper awesome! I’ve read it twice and am way past due for another reread! The movie is quite awful though. 😛

  9. Erika says:

    Hopefully you will give Lolita a chance someday because like you said it’s great writing. But then again some books just aren’t for everyone.

    • I might at some point in the distant future. I think the subject matter just creeps me out, lol. I’ll need time to prepare myself for it.

      • Erika says:

        I understand what you mean. A friend of mine recommended it to me during high school but I was so put off. It took me until college to actually finally give it a chance and read the book. Now it’s one of my favorite books. Though it really helped that Nabokov is such a great writer. 🙂

  10. Lauren says:

    I agree with your first three, but I did like The Book Thief and Gone Girl. Of Dashner’s series, I liked the first book the most but I wasn’t too pleased with the later ones.

    Check out my TTT.

  11. Megan says:

    I am not interested in The Maze Runner series. I also will probably never read Gone Girls. I really struggled to read The Book Thief. I felt so pressured to read it because of all the hype, so in a last ditch effort to see what the heck everyone was gushing about I picked up the audiobook. The narrator is amazing. I found myself sitting in the driveway after work just listening. I don’t know if you like to listen, but that one’s worth a try. Or, just skip it! There are too many books out there to stress about ones that you don’t click with! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-2jy

  12. I didn’t mind the Host, it was interesting. I’m curious about Gone Girl and Fifty Shades is popular this week, it made my list too.

    Sharon – Obsession with Books

  13. Melissa Lee says:

    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who couldn’t get into The Book Thief. With all the hype I was worried I’d missed out on something great. I tried to listen to the audio version of the book and just had no interest at all. I thought maybe it was one of those books where you should read a physical copy instead of listening to it, but after seeing it on your list I feel a bit better about abandoning it.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

