Product Review: Fandom of the Month Club – April 2015

productreview

So I while browsing instagram compulsively as I am prone to do one of the people I follow posted a re-gramed a photo of a subscription box centered around nerdy fandoms called Fandom of the Month Club. Each month a new box is shipped our full of a random fandoms’ jewelry and accessories, and each month the fandom changes. So example one month could be centered around Supernatural, and the next would be Hunger Games…but the catch is you don’t know what it’s going to be. It’s a surprise! Of course I signed up…how could I not?

Sign Up/Cancel Options

So signing up for Fandom of the Month Club is super simple and rather quick to do. You choose the plan you would like: month to month, 3 months, 6 months, or 12 months. Then you fill out your personal info, hit check out, and you’re done! You also have the option of giving the subscription as a gift.

Canceling is as easy as signing in to your account and hitting the ‘cancel’ button. Easy peasy!

Pricing

I personally went with the month to month subscription which is $13.00 with an added $2 shipping charge. However if you can swing the extra money you’ll actually save some money if you go with one of them larger subscription lengths. Shipping is a flat $2 on all plans.

Monthly – $13 , 3 Months – $36, 6 Months – $66, 12 Months – $120

I feel that this is fair considering there are usually several pieces in each box that cost at least half of the initial box price in the creator’s personal shop (thegeekycauldron) , so essentially you’re paying for one piece and getting the rest free.

Packaging

fandom

This box is beyond cute! It’s also tiny enough that it can be placed in a standard sized mailbox, so those of you with lazy postman have no need to fear them cramming something huge in your mailbox. It’s also quite sturdy and wrapped in tissue paper, so nothing inside was damaged at all.

What’s in the BOX?!

This month’s fandom was — Harry Potter!!

IMG_2593

The little postcard and box was designed by TheHalfBloodPrints 

IMG_2595

Deathly Hallows keychain from The Sorcerer’s Phone 

This now has a home on my key ring!

IMG_2597

Golden Snitch earrings & Owl ring – The Geeky Cauldron

The only issues I had with the box lay with these two, but I’m still really happy with them. The earrings are a bit large for my ears, however after I wore them for a day I can honestly say they are lightweight and didn’t cause any issues. The owl ring came in one size only, my ring finger is about a 6 or 7 (depending on temperatures). However if you find the ring to be too small try wearing it as a midi-ring (above the middle joint), it’s still really cute! I like to switch up where I wear rings anyway and this one fits comfortably on all of my fingers, including my thumb.

IMG_2598

Wingardium Leviosa necklace – The Geeky Cauldron

And I’m in love with this! Unfortunately with the lighting in the photo you can barely make out the engraved part on the feather, but it says Wingardium Leviosa. I’ve won this a lot since I got it, and it’s probably my favorite part of this box.

IMG_2599

Harry Potter bag – Sandsink ($6)

Promocode for 20% off in the Sindsink etsy shop! It will be a fandom based t-shirt or tote and it will be random, but you can pick your size.

Final Verdict

YES! A thousand time yes!! I think this is a super fun box by a group of really talented ladies. While there is some risk of getting a fandom you don’t enjoy or a ring that doesn’t fit (if you’re not into wearing them on different digits or giving them to others), I still thing this one is worth trying out if you really enjoy geeky fandoms and jewelry. I wouldn’t even be upset if I received a box for the Mortal Instruments, which I don’t like…because it would still make a great gift for someone who does.

4.5 Stars

This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Fandom of the Month Club – April 2015

  1. Oh this is cool, and I love the necklace!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

