Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books That Celebrate Diversity

Top

Hosted The Broke and the Bookish 

  • The Lunar Chronicles – Takes place in New Beijing for the most part, and has several POC  main characters. It also has a character with a physical handicap
  • The Young Elites – Marie Lu is very good about adding in a nice mix of culture to her books, and this includes characters of varies sexuality and races.
  • The Red Pyramid – This is one of the few series that I can think of off of the top of my head that has a mixed race family.

  • Any book by Khaled Hosseini – I’ve read both The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns and loved them. They mostly focus on characters who live in Afghanistan both in more modern day settings as well as several decades into the past.
  • Seraphina & Shadow Scale – Both books have a focus on the differences between characters with a mixed race main character  (human & dragon), several characters with physical disabilities, some mental illness, different sexualities, and lots of different cultures.
  • All the Bright Places – Mostly deals with depression and bipolar disorder

  • My Heart and Other Black Holes – This also deals with depression, but I found that it’s very blunt tone is what made it ring true the most.
  • Summer Queen – This series deals with two different cultures, but the second book is the one with the focus on the similarities and differences between them. The main characters are also POC  and the cultures portrayed have similarities of those found in reality.
  • Every Day – When I think books about diversity David Levithan is usually one of the first people to show up on my list. Every Day deals with gender fluidity and sexuality

  • Harry Potter series – Of course this is on here. This book is mostly symbolism for things in reality. Werewolves are alluded to the stigma associated with HIV and AIDs, it goes over the differences in how the characters are raised (big families, no families, abusive families, etc.), there are civil rights issues throughout, a few lgbt characters, a few interracial relationships, etc. It’s not the most blatant book on this list, but it’s on here because underneath a rather simple story is a rather complex meaning.
Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books That Celebrate Diversity

  1. We share the Lunar Chronicles and The Young Elites. I was so close to adding more by Levithan and something from Riordan. I really should have added Harry Potter, too.

  2. Great list! I totally agree on all books khaled houseini 🙂

  3. Angie F. says:

    I keep seeing The Young Elites around and it sounds really good!

    I really enjoyed Every Day. It was a super interesting look at genderfluidity.

    Here’s my top ten!

  4. Great list! I haven’t read most of these books yet, so I’ll have to add them to my TBR pile soon. 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

