Tiny Tot Review: The Legend of the Bluebonnet by Tomie dePaolo

Tiny Tot Reviews

 

Tiny Tot Reviews is a way for me to showcase some of the many children’s books that I read during my down time at the bookstore.

TheLegendofBluebonnetSource: Bookstore stock
Publisher: Puffin Books
Series: –
Edition: Paperback, 32 Pages
Genre: Children’s Picture Book
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble *
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating:
 4/5

When a killing drought threatens the existence of the tribe, a courageous little Comanche girl sacrifices her most beloved possession–and the Great Spirit’s answer results not only in much needed rain but a very special gift in return.

 

Tomie DePaolo is the author and illustrator of one of my favorite books The Legend of the Indian Paintbrush, so when I saw that I had another book by him sitting on my shelf I had to check it out.

The illustrations of his books are always gorgeous and this is no different. I adore the water color treatment and the pure emotions put into each scene. The story itself tells of the selfless story of the Native American origins of the bluebonnet, and centers around a little Comanche girl as she watches her tribe suffer from the lack of rain.

The beautiful tale is one of courage and willing sacrifice, and combined with the wonderful illustrations makes this a must for any child’s growing library.

4 stars

 

 

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2015) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tiny Tot Review: The Legend of the Bluebonnet by Tomie dePaolo

  1. Trisha says:

    Your site is really beautiful. I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award:-)
    https://ygreadallover.wordpress.com/2015/08/20/blogger-recognition/

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

