Product Review: Time Garden Coloring Book by Daria Song

productreviewthetimegardenSource: Blogging for Books – I received this in exchange for an honest review.
Publisher: Watson-Guptill
Series: –
Edition: Paperback,
Genre: Adult Coloring Book
Purchase: Amazon/ Barnes & Noble / Book Depository*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating: 4/5

Journey through the doors of a mysterious cuckoo clock into its inky innerworkings to discover a magical land of clock gears, rooftops, starry skies, and giant flying owls—all ready for you to customize with whatever colors you can dream up.

Cuckoo . . . cuckoo . . . cuckoo . . . When the clock strikes midnight, you’ll wonder, was it all a dream?

The Time Garden features extra-thick craft paper, ideal for non bleed-through coloring, and the jacketed cover with flaps is removable and colorable. Special gold-foil stamping on the cover and spine and a To/From page make it perfect for gifting to adults and kids alike.

Then, explore the magical world outside the clock through the eyes of a fairy in the sequel, The Time Chamber: A Magical Story and Coloring Book!

Time Garden is an adult coloring book along the same vein as the super popular coloring book Enchanted Forest.

As a kid these were the sorts of coloring books that scared me, they look so detailed and hard, but now they call to me. I love the intricate designs and the way the color really pulls it all together into something gorgeous. Plus it’s stress relief that can’t be beat.

I LOVE the illustrations in this, daunting though they are. It really has a bit of everything from the super simple pattern pages to architecture designs to flowers and animals. The pictures are done in a sort of storybook kind of way following the story of a little girl as she discovers a world inside of a clock her parents purchased. It’s a cute way to present the pictures and it really ties all the whimsical images together.

IMG_3605 [41728]

I prefer using colored pencils but the paper is thick enough to handle inks and unless you’re pressing down really hard it shouldn’t bleed through at all. A lot of the pictures take up two pages which is actually the only annoyance I had because I have a habit of stopping in the middle of an image and coming back later, but with a two page spread it tends to take a few days and by that time I’ve shuffled my stuff around and I lose the exact pencils I’ve used and then I end up with two different shades.

IMG_3608 [41730]

Overall I’m really happy with this and I can’t wait ot share it with my mom who also loves coloring.

4 stars

 

Image | This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Product Review: Time Garden Coloring Book by Daria Song

  1. It looks fab! But I agree the double pages sounds a bit annoying and it takes from the look of the picture too I think.
    What I love is that there is a story to it. Any book I’ve seen has just been random pics but I like the way that yours is a journey.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

