Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Habits I Want to Quit

Top

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

1.Not Being Able to DNF – I’ve only DNFed two books in total. There have been others I’ve read a few pages of and never picked back up, so I only count books that I make to page 20 as books I’ve truly started. After page 20 I’m in it for the long haul, even if I loathe every single word of it. It’s tiring but it truly bothers me to leave them unfinished.

2.My Annual Fall/Winter Book Slump – It’s not a habit I’ve consciously decided upon, it just happens. As soon as the weather turns cooler and the rain starts I stop reading. The weather makes me miserable and since I suffer from depression I find it hard to do anything other than exist until the warmer weather returns, so reading becomes a chore. 

3. Avoiding Book Recommendations – I do this with all recommendations. If you suggest I should watch a tv show, you can count on me not watching it anytime soon. Same goes for movies, comic books, video games, and books. I don’t know why I do it, but as soon as someone recommends me something I immediately lose all interest.

4. Internal Book Snobbery – I would never shame another person for reading what they enjoy, out-loud. My mind goes there quicker than most people can blink though. I hate that it always pops up when a book that is poorly written though entertaining is praised in my presence. I do think reading takes all kinds and it should be celebrated, I encourage people to read whatever they like with no judgment. It’s part of my job, and I make sure people know that when they look for a book. But oh how my mind betrays me. Every time I hear something like “Oh I LOVED  Twilight, it’s my favorite book!” or “Hush, Hush was SUCH a great book. I loved the writing” part of my soul shrivels up and dies. My mind will then proceed to list all the books better suited for consumption, while my mouth smiles and tells them other books I know they would actually like. I want that little snob gone.

5. Starting Too Many Books at Once – Watch out for a bored or an apathetic Michelle because she’ll waste more time starting new books trying to match her mood, than she will actually reading the ones already on her nightstand. I do this all the time. It’s why I’m so adept at reading 5 or 6 books at once. It also makes me restless and anxious and it’s generally not good for my mood. I have about 6 started right now.

6. Constantly Checking Page Numbers or Time Left –  I do this without meaning too. I’ll be enjoying myself and then suddenly I’m finding myself counting pages until the next chapter break, or tapping the bottom of my kindle screen to see how much time I have left in the book. 

7. Mood Reading –  This is an odd one to include, but I really hate that I can’t pick up any book I want to and be able to enjoy it. I have to be in the proper mood or I’ll end up loathing every moment of it even if it is a good book. It really slows my reading down as well. I could probably get through at least 30 more books a year if I didn’t have to spend so much time trying out books only to find out it’s not a good fit for the moment.

8. Interruptions = Super Crabby Michelle – Part of me doesn’t see this as a horrible thing. I mean no one wants to be interrupted when they are really into something, especially if it’s for something super pointless. However I do tend to snap at people or basically treat them like I’ve just seen them kick a puppy when they interrupt me reading for nothing important.

9. Having to Stop on a Chapter Break – I don’t like to stop reading at any other point in a book except on the start of a new chapter. It bothers me and I’m sure the people who interrupt me hate the fact that I ignore them for a few more pages while I get to the next chapter.

10. Avoiding the Last Book in a Series – This isn’t something I do on purpose…but it’s definitely a habit of mine. I have so many series where I only have one book left to get to and I just never do. I own it, I try to read it…and for some reason I just don’t do it. I either get really antsy or my mind tells me it’s bored, despite the fact that I’ve been looking forward to it for ages.

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Habits I Want to Quit

  1. Sometimes, I’ll find myself checking pages/time too. Excellent Hermione gifs!

    Check out my TTT.

  2. oooh the last book in series… I know that one. I have few series that I need to finish and yet can’t… because then they would be over. It’s like I’m letting them live a bit more…

  3. Great list, Michelle! 5, 6 and 10 are all problems I have, too – if I start getting bored in the middle of a book I’ll start another one rather than just finishing that one and moving on, and I’m terrible for avoiding the last book in a series. Ever since I read a very disappointing final book in a trilogy a few years ago I’ve really struggled with finishing series.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

