Sunday Post (174)

Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. ~ Inspired by the meme In My Mailbox.~ It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

It’s been a long week, but I’m totally ready for my day off today. I watched The Martian on Tuesday night, and it was fantastic. Definitely worth watching even if you haven’t read the book…but I recommend doing that too because they do edit it down a bit. I’ve also been watching movies and Supernatural on Netflix this week. A lot of interesting gems: Europa Report, The Babadook, Frank, Time Lapse, Advantageous, and The Boxtrolls. I finally finished Aftermath, so maybe my reading slump will go away.

We should be starting a new RP tonight, hopefully…or at least going over the finer details of our characters so we can get started next week. We’re doing one called TitansGrave, which was a collaboration between the publisher and Wil Wheaton’s tabletop. The youtube series is fantastic.

Books Read

  • Aftermath by Chuck Wendig

Last Week

Monday: Tarkin by James Luceno (Review)

Tuesday: Bookish Habits I Want to Quit (Top Ten Tuesday)

Wednesday: Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty (Review)

Thursday: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Review)

Saturday: Bitch Planet Vol. 1 – Extraordinary Machine (Saturday Issue Review)

Book Haul:

For Review

Roseredbirde

  • The Rose Red Bride by Claire DelaCroix (Audiobook)

Purchased

tumblr_nw0j74aNJ41r4k2gso1_500

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Both the adult and the children’s UK versions! My UK children’s hardcover set is now complete! I’m a bit bummed that two of them are missing dust jackets, but when you’re buying international copies second hand it gets a bit hard to be overly choosy.

Gifted

SwordofSumme tumblr_nvxel49oWo1r4k2gso1_500

Won

IlluminaeThelostsun

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Post (174)

  1. Christy says:

    Yay for a day off. There’s an adult edition and child edition of HP? What’s the difference?

  2. Deborah says:

    Oh Michelle, I’m hoping to see The Martian this week. I haven’t read the book and ended up holding off as people were so positive about the movie!

  3. Greg says:

    I definitely want to see The MArtian, I’m kinda geeked for it. Maybe this week… and the new Riordan and Illuminae are on my read-soon list. Have a great weekend Michelle!

  4. I am excited to see The Martian, it looks amazing. I can’t wait to get my hands on Illuminate it looks so interesting. Have a great week.

  5. I have the UK children editions of HP and I don’t like them! Not when there are so many fab covers out there nowadays. What I really want next though is the audiobooks but they are SO expensive that I keep holding back.
    Looking forward to the Martian, most people seem to be really enjoying the film version.

  6. I hope to see ‘The Martian’ this week. I haven’t read the book but the movie trailer looked amazing. I’ll definitely need to get the book.
    Awesome that you have both the children and the adult versions of the UK Harry Potter books. I have the Dutch ones and the UK children version. If I had more room I would definitely want to get more versions 😀
    Good luck this week and I hope your reading slump will go away 😉

  7. I didn’t plan to read The Martian, but now I think I will. At first it didn’t seem like something I would enjoy, but its MacGyver-ish survivalism intrigues me. That’s interesting about the HP versions, good marketing on the publisher’s part.

  8. Oh, you got Illuminae! I hope you’ll enjoy it, Michelle, it looks so good 🙂
    I haven’t read the Martian, and I hardly ever have the time to go see a movie, so we’ll see if I’ll pick up the book at some point.
    Have a fantastic week ahead and happy reading.

  9. Yay on winning Illuminae, it looks like it is going to be a great read!

    I am looking forward to seeing the Martian, the book was fantastic.

    Have a good week!

  10. Lola says:

    I haven’t read or watched Tha Martian so far and still not sure whether I want to, lots of people say how good it is, so I might want to give it a try. I hope your reading sump goes away soon, I hate reading slumps. You got some good looking books this week, Illuminae sounds interesting, I hope you’ll enjoy your new books. Have a great week!

  11. I will be back to comment on your last weeks TTT. I read it, but the battery on my Kindle ran out and I was at work, so… ha ha! I will be back to read your Serafina and the Black Cloak review. You are welcome for the Orleans. I save them for people I know will appreciate a more “sciency” dystopian. My son is going to buy me the Illustrated Sorcerer’s Stone for my birthday because he couldn’t find the vodka I wanted. A fair trade off, I must say! Have a wonderful week. 🙂 :

  12. Could they make any more money on Harry Potter? Whoever “they” are, it is apparent they are marketing geniuses.

  13. Hope you are enjoying your new books. I don’t watch a ton of movies, I am hooked on TV. The Martian does sound really good and I am watching Supernatural right now. 🙂
    sherry @ fundinmental My Sunday Memes

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

