Tiny Tot Review: A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon

Tiny Tot Reviews

Tiny Tot Reviews is a way for me to showcase some of the many children’s books that I read during my down time at the bookstore.

StripesSource: Bookstore stock
Publisher: Puffin Books
Series: –
Edition: Paperback, 32 Pages
Genre: Children’s Picture Book
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble 
Rating:
 4/5

“What we have here is a bad case of stripes. One of the worst I’ve ever seen!”

Camilla Cream loves lima beans, but she never eats them. Why? Because the other kids in her school don’t like them. And Camilla Cream is very, very worried about what other people think of her. In fact, she’s so worried that she’s about to break out in…a bad case of stripes!

A Bad Case of Stripes is a beautifully done picture book about how peer pressure can really affect a person, can cause them to change both physically and mentally. It’s such a simple story and I really think that the images really help make it something a bit more fun than simply telling someone to be who they want to be, not who others want you to be.

tumblr_m8bbemv7Ou1r6i35po1_500

I love the art style in this as well. It’s really nicely detailed and has bold vibrant colors that really stand out. That being said…some of the images are a little, freaky. There are few scenes that I know would have freaked me out as a kid, and probably would have made it even more difficult to do things like give me medicine…And I’ve heard from a few of my customers that it scared their kids too and made them shy away from eating certain things. So this might be a good one to skip if you have a child prone to anxiety.

14009651._SY540_

However I think for older grade levels like 1st or so grade, it might be good to share along with what the story truly means.

4 stars

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2015) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tiny Tot Review: A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon

  1. I really love this art style too. I am going to check this book out, for sure.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

