Mini-Read Review: I, Caroline by David Bruns & Evangeline by Alexia Purdy

Minireadreview

Mini-Read Review is a feature created here on In Libris Veritas in order to showcase the reviews for short stories and novellas which so often get overlooked.

25237850

Source: Purchased
Publisher: –
Series: –
Edition: eBook, 16 pages
Genre: Sci-fi Novella
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Castaway meets I, Robot in this heart-breaking short story of love, loss, and irrevocable choices.

When the Ranger, a deep-space exploration vessel, to crashlands on Nova, only four beings survive: three humans and an accidentally self-aware robot named Caroline.

Their new environment sustains the stranded colonists, but human lives—unlike robots—have an end. Now Caroline is alone with all the emotions of a human trapped in an indestructible body.

Then she realizes she has a choice…

I, Caroline takes the artificial intelligence trope head on, and manages to emotionally tie you to the story in just 16 pages. It has a slow subtly about it and looks much deeper than a simple ‘robot begins to feel’ story. We get to see as Caroline learns emotion from those around her, grows attached, loves, and looses…and through this we see what it means to be human. 16 pages is all it took, which is incredibly impressive. I never give out anything higher than a 3.4 for stories this short, but I had to make an exception because this one stood out in a way I didn’t expect. It’s well written, has depth and really made me want more.

4.5 Stars15777401Source: Purchased
Publisher: –
Series: Dark Faerie Tales .5
Edition: eBook, 29 pages
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Novella
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating: 2/5 Stars

The Land of Faerie is calling.
There are places unknown, magic lures you in and love spands lifetimes.
Don’t resist. It’s in the blood…

Evangeline is a short story prequel to Ever Shade.

I recently reviewed the first book, Ever Shade, and since I already had this one and a few others on my kindle (they were all freebies at one point) I decided to give this one another shot. It’s only 29 pages so I wasn’t committing to a full novel, and I would be able to tell right away if the author’s style had developed any. The good news it defintely has, the writing in this one is much smoother…though it’s definitely still on the rougher side. The description was much better, and I feel like I got a better sense of who these characters were unlike in Ever Shade. That being said it still didn’t quiet satisfy that niche craving I had, and given the brief encounter I had with Evangeline in Ever Shade I expected more of a backstory and explanation.

2 stars

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2015) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

