Review: F*ck That – An Honest Meditation by Jason Headley

FuckThatSource: Blogging for Books – I received this book in exchange for an honest review. 
Publisher: Three Rivers Press
Edition:
 Hardcover, 64 Pages
Genre:
 Humor / Self Help
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository
Rating: 4/5

Let this book help you find peace with the challenges that surround you.

Because they are f*cking everywhere.

We all have an inner voice. Sometimes it’s just not quite as serene as we’d like.

Based on the viral video that had everyone from yogis to workaholics raving, F*ck That is the completely truthful and oddly tranquil guide to achieving your inner peace.

F*ck That is just the sort of sweary self help book that fits my personality. I would be lying if I said I didn’t envision punching at least one person every day…even on my good days. I wouldn’t say I’m ‘angry’, but I do really appreciate a good therapeutic mental image of me throat punching someone. Take that as you will. So of course a humorous self help book called Fuck That caught my eye, I feel like if I didn’t request it I’d be betraying some part of myself.

It’s super short and mostly meant for a good laugh, but the meditation thoughts are still there so there isn’t any reason why you couldn’t learn to center yourself and stop wanting to pummel people. I have to say I’m sort of in love with this. I read like four times the same day I got it in the mail, not because I need that much deep breathing but because I was laughing so hard. I mean it may not be for actual mediation purposes, but the fact that “Think of something that makes you want to choke a motherfucker…” is a line pretty much makes me forget why I was even mad to begin with, so I’d say it works.

The photography in it is quite pretty as well, and adds to the ridiculousness of it. The price is a bit steep for a book this size ($14) but I’m tempted to buy a couple as gifts for my fellow swear loving people who probably need a break from all the mental aggression.

4 stars

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2016) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: F*ck That – An Honest Meditation by Jason Headley

  1. This sounds hilarious. I almost daily envision my landlord (who lives downstairs) making some big muscle guy mad and getting punched. Heh heh. I always see those people getting pummeled by someone else, I wonder what that means? Except my ex, yeah, I wanted to personally punch him in the head while he was sleeping quite frequently. 😀

  2. I absolutely love the idea of this! If I see it in the shop, I’ll be buying it. It sounds fun but also I think I’d find it practical too 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

