Sunday Post (209)

Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. ~ Inspired by the meme In My Mailbox.~ It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

So this has been a week of anxiety and exhaustion, which is no better than the previous weeks…if anything it’s probably worse. But I’ve been trying to stay busy mentally with books, video games, netflix, and walking.

I did sign up for another virtual race, this one doesn’t come with a medal but I think it’s far more important. Hogwarts Running Club is all about getting miles in while doing good, and we run/walk for charities and with what happened in Orlando a lot of us wanted to do something. So we’ve started a 9,340 mile virtual race around the US called Dumbledore’s Army: We Run as One, starting and ending in Orlando with all of the money from registration and donations going to The Trevor Project, which provides suicide prevention and crisis intervention to LGBT youths. While we get the miles in other people can back those participating with donations. We have a goal of $10,000 in donations, and we managed to squash that in less than a week. We are fighting hatred the best way we know how, with love.

On the off chance you’d like to donate, you can find the race page here. I would love it if you backed me (Michelle Gilmore) or Zac Scheinder (Slytherin team’s Head Boy). The minimum donation allowed is $10 and you can remain anonymous if you wish. Please let me know if you need help figuring out the site.13427736_10210114253476470_1008084832624690672_n

Books Read

  • In a Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
  • Before We Visit the Goddess by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
  • Harry Potter and Prisoner of Azkaban (Re-Read)

Last Week

Monday: Influenster Bloom Vox Box   (Product Reviews)

Tuesday: Tell Me Tuesday #8 (What I’m Reading & What’s Next)

Friday: Flix Friday #10 (Bob Ross & Game of Thrones)

Book Haul

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Post (209)

  1. Briana says:

    I’ve never heard of a virtual race before. That sounds really interesting and a great way to support Orlando.

    • I just found out about them towards the end of last year, but they are really great for people who want to do races or train for them without the added pressure of an actual event. Plus a lot of them support charities and I can always get behind that.

  2. Greg says:

    That race sounds like an awesome thing, glad people are doing stuff like that. The outpouring of support after Orlando has been nice to see, amongst all the bad stuff. Have a great week.

  3. That’s great about the Dumbledore’s Army run. I am sorry you have been having such a rough time. Chin up, I know it doesn’t always seem like it, but I know you know things will eventually get better. Just keep watching Bob Ross.

    • It’s been a rough year so far, but I’ll make it. Even if I only have enough energy for ‘un-important’ stuff like video games or reading. And Bob Ross has become a therapy for us this past week, he’s so soothing and we end up laughing just as much as we end up baffled by how quickly he paints amazing stuff.

  4. Deborah says:

    Sorry to hear it hasn’t been a good week. I hope things improve soon.

    I haven’t heard of a virtual race either!

  5. I’m sorry you’ve had such a tough week, Michelle! Hopefully, the virtual race – which is a beautiful idea! – will help keep your mind on other things 🙂
    I hope next week will be better! Happy reading.

  6. The race sounds like a fantastic idea! I’m so sorry you’ve had a rough week. Everything does tend to land at once. I really enjoyed In a Dark Dark Wood. I hope you did too. I wish they wouldn’t compare it to The Girl on the Train as I think a lot of people went end expecting more of a twist than there really was. I hope next week is better!

    • I really did enjoy it! It’s not my typical type of read, but I enjoyed it enough that I’m thinking of fixing that and diving into the thriller genre a bit more. I kind of understand the Girl on the Train comparisons, because of the unreliability…but it is quite different, and it’s certainly not as twisty.

  7. OMG I love every HP reference in this post and the book haul, my feels!

  8. Got My Book says:

    Azkaban is my favorite one. I hope you have a better week.

    My Sunday Summary

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

