Tell Me Tuesday (16)

 

TellMeTuesday

Hosted by La La in the Library

Tell Me Tuesday is a feature devoted to letting people know what you’re reading ,what you read last, and what you plan on reading.

Last Read

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Roaowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne – Goodreads

This one is no doubt polarizing, but I ended up enjoying it. I think understanding that Rowling didn’t write this and that as a play it’s is handled definitely. Emotions are pushed harder, making them a bit cheesier in places, so that you get the just of how deep these feelings go quicker. Situations are sped up because a play only has a limited amount of time to work with. There is so much we don’t see in this, but I liked what I did see and much of it were actually things I’ve already thought about since the completion of the series. I do want to see the play though, because I’m positive there are things we’re missing out on that would otherwise fix some smaller issues.

Rooms

Rooms by Lauren Oliver – Goodreads

This turned out to be somewhat underwhelming. I liked the use of the ghosts in the over all narrative, and I liked the closer look at how depression affects people in a wide variety of ways..but I just sort of got bored with it about half way through and it seemed to linger much longer than it’s short 300 pages.

Currently Reading

TheFireman

The Fireman by Joe Hill – Goodreads

So far I’m really liking this one! I’ve read one Joe Hill novel before and it was half the size of this one, so I’m a bit worried how the rest will go but I love what’s happening now. I really like Harper, the main character, and the illness Dragonscale is pretty crazy. It’s probably going to take me a little bit to get through this one but I am enjoying all the weird little turns this one throws at me.

TheInvisibleLibrary

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman – Goodreads

So far I’m enjoying this one. i like the idea of multiple universes all being connected by a Library that collects important books and documents from each one.

Up Next

DarkMatter.jpg

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch  – Goodreads

I requested a review copy of this one after the book I initially wanted became unavailable. I’ve heard some really great things about it though and it seems the author has a pretty loyal following.

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tell Me Tuesday (16)

  1. My feelings were pretty much the same about The Cursed Child and I was excited to see that it might get to Broadway as early as next season. Although getting tickets will probably be beastly for the first year. I really want to read The Invisible Library, so I am glad you are liking it. Thanks for TMTing! 😀

  2. Greg says:

    The Invisible Library has a great concept- the way worlds are connected to it, and i liked that it can take days to traverse it. Cool idea. The law and chaos thing too- lots of neat ideas.

  3. I do want to see The Cursed Child on stage as I think it would be a fun experience. But I felt flat after reading the play, it was good but I wanted it to be more.
    That’s disappointing about Rooms, it’s on my TBR!

    • You still might enjoy it! It’s one I’d recommend as a library book though, just to test it out. I think I’m just not into Oliver’s writing style, I’ve tried to read her other books but never really moved past the first few pages.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

