Tell Me Tuesday (17)

TellMeTuesday

Hosted by La La in the Library

Tell Me Tuesday is a feature devoted to letting people know what you’re reading ,what you read last, and what you plan on reading.

Last Read

perf5.500x8.500.indd

Of Sand Storm by Amber Argyle – Goodreads

I got this shortly before release date, but had to push it back a bit because some family stuff. This one completes the Fairy Queen series, and is a longer short story focused on one of the more important side characters from several of the books. It’s a darker themed book but still really good, and it’s been a pleasure following this author over the years.

TheInvisibleLibrary

The Invisible Library  by Genevieve Cogman – Goodreads

I finished this one on Saturday because it was due back on Monday. It was a book club pick and I really enjoyed it, it had some issues with pacing though. It was an interesting mix of portal fantasy and Sherlock Holmes-esque mystery, and I’m hoping my library has the second book.

Currently Reading

TheFireman

The Fireman by Joe Hill – Goodreads

I’m moving slowly in this one, but only because it is well and truly a tome. I’m only 300 pages into it and that’s not really even half way, but it’s definitely keeping the pace and the cool twists coming.

DarkMatter.jpg

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch  – Goodreads

I just started this one and I already love it. It’s a sci-fi book that has a sort of simple premise, but the execution is wonderful and it’s starting to throw out punches I didn’t see coming. It feels like it’s going to be a quick read as well, so bonus points.

Up Next

Uprooted

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – Goodreads

I’m very excited to get to this one. I’ve heard great things about it and after reading a few pages I really think I’m going to enjoy the writing style as well.

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tell Me Tuesday (17)

  1. Greg says:

    I gotta remind myself to find the next book in the Invisible Library. And I haven’t read any Crouch since Wayward Pines but one of these days…

  2. I enjoyed the Invisible Library, although pacing wasn’t an issue for me. Enjoy Dark Matter it fed my inner nerd 🙂

  3. I didn’t realize the Invisable Library was a Holms type mystery. I might not like it after all. The Fireman is definitely in my sites, but it is one of those books that is pushed way back on my list. Everyone I know who has read it has loved it, though. keep I keep seeing Uprooted popping up here and there with stellar reviews and it released well over a year ago, so that takes the hype element out of the picture. I really want to read it, too. It being a standalone is really appealing to me, right now. I hope you like it. I will probably get it from the library. Thanks for TMTing so faithfully! 🙂

    • I didn’t expect The Invisible Library to have that heavy of a mystery element either, but in the end I enjoyed it. Though it’s probably only a 3.5 Star rating total. It’s on the slower side. The Fireman is wonderful so far, I’ve been reading it some today and I wish I had my own copy.
      I’m really loving standalones right now as well. I tend to lean towards series, but I have so much to read as it is I don’t really want to add even more to it.

  4. The Invisible Library was cool, although it took me a long while to feel any emotional attachment to the characters. Really interesting worldbuilding, though, and plenty of action and what-the-heck-is-going-on intrigue. As for Uprooted, it’s one of the best books I read last years, hands down. I loved it.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

