Reading & Ranting: One Chapter Book Tag (Oct 2016)

readingranting

So I saw a bunch of booktubers doing this tag recently and thought it seemed like an awesome way to check out some of the books I’m not sure about keeping or not.

Basically I picked out 5 books and read the first chapter or like 20 or so pages, and then I tell you guys about the experience and if I want to keep them or not.

The Farm by Emily McKay

I’m not sure why I haven’t read this one yet! This has a great opening chapter, it doesn’t give a way a ton of what’s going on but it’s definitely enough that I’m really interested in what’s going to happen farther in! Keeping this one! I might try to bump it up the TBR a bit too.

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

I don’t think I’ll get a long with this one. The story is told from the point of view of a girl whose grammar is…not really there, which is fine and totally immersive BUT the editor in me in cringing and getting caught up on trying to figure out why they chose to say one thing when it’s simpler to say another. In short I’ll be trading this one in.

Eon by Alison Goodman

Ooo, another good one! This is one I picked up from Goodwill ages ago I think and just never got around to it…but I can see me really enjoying it. The main character is a female pretending to be a boy in order to obtain a male on honor of being part of a duty to one of the gods. Definitely keeping this one!

Will in Scarlet by Matthew Cody

This is a MG book about Will Scarlet, one of Robin Hood’s Merry Men. In this it seems Will is in a house of nobility and in the first chapter is on a hunt learning what it means to be with his future men. I find it interesting, but not overly so…I think once the plot of betrayal gets started I might like it more. I’ll keep it for now.

Sabriel by Garth Nix

I’ve had this one for ages and I’ve never touched it. so this was a nice way to check it out. It’s definitely interesting! I like the initial set up of the magic system and Sabriel seems like she could be quite interesting. I’ll keep it!

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading & Ranting: One Chapter Book Tag (Oct 2016)

  1. This is a cool tag! I might do it. Every time I have seen the Sabriel cover I thougjt it was the name of a place. Ha ha. Now I know it is not. 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

