Tell Me Tuesday (27)

TellMeTuesday

Hosted by La La in the Library

Tell Me Tuesday is a feature devoted to letting people know what you’re reading ,what you read last, and what you plan on reading.

Last Read

strange-fruit

Strange Fruit Vol. 1 : Uncelebrated Narratives from Black History – Goodreads

This a graphic novel that I randomly found at my library and decided to check out. For the most part I really enjoyed Strange Fruit. It has some pretty great stories, a lot of which I wasn’t familier with. The beginning had a bit of pacing and art issues, but it really smooths out a little farther into the book.

the-romance-of-the-forest

The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe – Goodreads

This was a readalong that I did on Litsy using the Serial Reader app…and basically I’m summing this one up as ‘a Book of Sighs’. There is a lot of fainting, a lot of poems and songs, and a whole lot of talking around the issues. So basically I just spent most of my issues sighing loudly because either the main character just faints or is forced to listen to a long winded explanation, or because she yet again decided to compose a poem that takes up too much page space. Gothic horror really came a long way. I love the prose involved in the genre, but this one basically took it and tried to smother me with it.

Currently Reading

a-torch-against-the-night

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir – Goodreads

So I’ve had this from the library for two week and of course I haven’t touched it until the weekend before it needs to head back. I’m about half way through this one  (at the time of posting) and I plan to take it back this evening. It does progress at a nice pace though and it’s still pretty good…though I’m cursing the freaking love triangles right now. I have my ship and I don’t need this excess tension.

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle – Goodreads

My new Serial Reader readalong book! This one is rather short and we’re hoping will be a nice pick me up after the sigh-fest that was Romance of the Forest.

Up Next

fantasticbeasts

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling – Goodreads

So this is just the screenplay of the movie…but I really like reading screenplays because my mind loves the memorize entire movies. This won’t take me long once I finish up A Torch Against the Night.

the-handmaids-tale

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – Goodreads

Since I enjoyed Hag-Seed I decided to give this one a try. It seems to be her most popular work, it’s somewhat relevant to current events, and has a really intriguing dystopian premise.

 

Image | This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tell Me Tuesday (27)

  1. Andrea ( aka rokinrev) says:

    Hag-Seed was marvelous, but look what she was working with! You might not like Handmaiden’s Tale. It was hard to stomach when it first came out in the Feminism Wave…I agree that it deserved every accolade it got. But it might take Atwood as her own director to catch the nuance. Needless to say, I will not be going to see the movie

    • I’ve heard The Handmaid’s Tale is a bit of an acquired taste even within Atwood’s fanbase. I’m curious to see how I will react to it, especially since it has a rather harsh reality within it.
      I didn’t know they were making a movie of it! I’m not sure I’ll go see it, but when it comes out on blu-ray I might borrow a copy.

  2. Greg Hill says:

    A Torch Against the Night looks interesting, I had to go over to Goodreads to check it out. Kind of a Roman world huh? Hope it wraps up good!

  3. I love your summary of The Romance Of the Forest. Ha ha. I plan to read A Handmaid’s Tale at some point next year. I am going to look and see if my library has the Strange Fruit graphic novels. Thanks for TMTing! 🙂

  4. I remember having to read The Handmaid’s Tale for my grade 12 english class. I’m Canadian and I live in Toronto and she’s one of the beloved authors here (she lives in Toronto) but I just couldn’t get into it. I did love her book The Penelopiad though which I really recommend.
    Hope you enjoy your reads!

    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

