Review: Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

Dead Ever After

Source: Library
Publisher: Ace
Series: Sookie Stackhouse #13
Edition:
 Hardcover, 338 Pages
Genre:
 Paranormal Fantasy
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository
Rating: 3/5

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…

I have finally taken the time to finish this series! Finally! The last two books were somewhat difficult to get through, not because they were bad but because they were sort of on autopilot the whole time and you could see all the loose ends being tied up too close everything out.

Dead Ever After is actually a decent send-off, throwing a few curveballs I didn’t see coming. Sookie has been through a lot over thirteen books and it’s really interesting to see how far she’s come, and how much she can handle now. I did like getting to see everyone and kind of comparing where everyone started vs where they’ve all ended up. I will say I can tell this series was something Harris wanted to be done. It’s been a long time coming and it’s sort of ‘tired’. The story itself is sort of fluttered between being boring and formulaic, and interesting and fun. I used to love the normalcy that Sookie maintained in her own home, but in the later books, I’ve grown tired of seeing her plot out meals and clean. A lot of the characters are on par with the way they’ve always been but some seem to act weird for the sake of making the story work…it wouldn’t be a problem if the it was something that stemmed from  more than closing the books out in a normal way.

Sookie’s relationships have always been a focus (duh, paranormal romance) and while I’ve always enjoyed getting to know the different guys she’s dated…I had hope that for some reason the unlikely relationship of Sookie and Eric would pan out. I mean I’ve never seen it as a viable long term situation because Sookie has always been completely against being a vampire, which sort of shortens the likelihood of Eric sticking around when she starts getting older…but damn. I’m not mad at the direction the book went with this, I just wish it wasn’t something I saw coming.

Overall I’m glad I grabbed this one. I didn’t really enjoy the previous book a lot and I wasn’t sure I’d ever get around to Dead Ever After, but it was really nice to kind of see all of the characters off and close the perverbial cover on this story.

3 star

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2017) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

  1. My sister listened to the entire series as audiobooks. I caught snippets of them in the car when we went shopping, but I don’t know if I want to commit to that long of a series. I saw the first two HBO seasons, but never ended up finishing season three. I didn’t like the whole faerie realm thing. 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

