Top Ten Tuesday: Top Beach Reads

Top

Hosted The Broke and the Bookish 

To me a beach read is a book that’s light and fun! Something you can relax and read while sitting out in public without the fear of turning into a sobbing baby or throwing in frustration. It needs to make you feel good and keep you entertained.

BetweenthePagesTheWriteStuffFeverfinal_high

  • Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer – This book and it’s sequel (Off the Page) are the perfect feel good fantasy reads. Plus who doesn’t like the idea of our storybook heroes coming to life.
  • The Write Stuff by Tiffany King – This is about an author falling for a cover model. It’s the right mix of romance, humor, feels and character development.
  • Fever by Melissa Pearl – Another amazing and swoony romance. It’s a mostly clean read so you should only be turning red from the sun and not from the steam on the pages, but it was such an addicting read that I could easily see myself lounging on the sand all day with it.

My ClarityLife After TheftPivot Point

Golden The Secret InregdientClarity

  • Golden by Jessi Kirby – It’s a book that makes you want to go out and do things, and while it does make you think it’s not a super heavy book or loaded with wordy prose.
  • The Secret Ingredient by Stewart Lewis – About a teen who spends the summer before her senior year reading an old recipe book and learning even more about herself and her family.
  • Clarity by Kim Harrington – A paranormal YA mystery with a distinct beachy feel to it.

Alias Hook

  • Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen – A fantastic retelling of Peter Pan from Hook’s point of view. It has a lot of adventure and even some romance.
Posted in General | Tagged | 20 Comments

Review: Off the Page by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

OffthepageSource: Random House Kids – I received this in exchange for an honest review. 
Publisher: 
Delacorte Press
Series:
 Between the Lines #2
Edition:
 Hardcover, 356 Pages
Genre:
 Young Adult Fantasy Romance
Purchase: 
Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository*
*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases
Rating: 3.5/5

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.

Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

Off the Page is the companion novel to Between the Pages, though I see it as more of a proper sequel than a book I would pick up without having read the first one. It is possible to enjoy it without the back story, as it does go over everything that has happened, however I think I wouldn’t have enjoyed it nearly as much if I wasn’t already familiar with the characters. I thought it was just as a good as the predecessor and was just the heartfelt read I needed. There may be spoilers for book one in the following review, so if you planned to read the series then I would skim it or not continue onward. 

So when we left Between the Pages, Oliver and Delilah had the whole world ahead of them. Off the Page picks up a few months after that, and Oliver is now enrolled in her high school. When I read this I was so hesitant to continue, because I wasn’t sure how it was going to play out. If it had been one of those, “he’s a natural” things I would have just breezed through this one without bothering to enjoy it. But nope, it was as awkward as I’d hoped it would be. Oliver now has to learn how to be an actual person and not just some storybook prince. There are new words to learn, to skills to master, and schoolwork unlike anything he has ever seen. We also have a ton of miscommunication as Delilah and Oliver work through their first major relationship hiccups. We also get to see how Edgar and the rest of the book characters are doing, and how the book is faring with the new changes. This one had a lot more conflict than I was expecting, and I’m actually glad for it because it addressed a lot of the things I was sort of miffed about with the previous book. I’m also really happy we got to see more of Jules in this book and learn a bit more about who she is as a person, and I thought her role in the book was one that the first book needed more of.

This one is still a book of heartfelt fluff, though there are moments where you get a lot of deep growing experiences. Add that with Picoult & Van Leer’s writing style and you have a book that is very easy to read in a few sittings. If you love fairy tales with a modern day twist this is definitely one to check out. It’s fun and fresh, and has some gorgeous illustrations scattered throughout.

3.5 stars

Posted in Book Reviews (2015) | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments