Waiting on Wednesday #26

21-06-10-cause-id-rather-pretend-ill-still-be-there-at-the-end-explored-1_4

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine where we spotlight books we are eagerly anticipating.

Solstice by P.J. Hoover

Expected Publication: June 18th, 2013

Preorder: Amazon*/ Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases

Piper’s world is dying.

Each day brings hotter temperatures and heat bubbles that threaten to destroy the earth. Amid this global heating crisis, Piper lives under the oppressive rule of her mother, who suffocates her even more than the weather does. Everything changes on her eighteenth birthday, when her mother is called away on a mysterious errand and Piper seizes her first opportunity for freedom.

Piper discovers a universe she never knew existed—a sphere of gods and monsters—and realizes that her world is not the only one in crisis. While gods battle for control of the Underworld, Piper’s life spirals out of control as she struggles to find the answer to the secret that has been kept from her since birth.

An imaginative melding of mythology and dystopia, Solstice is the first YA novel by talented newcomer P. J. Hoover.

I am rather curious about the mix of mythology and dystopia. It sounds like something with the possibility to be rather unique.

So what are you waiting on this week?

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #26

  1. Great pick! I really like the sound of this book and I’m really excited about it. I can’t wait for it to come out so I can read it. I hope you enjoy reading it.
    Come check out my WOW post.

  2. Caro says:

    I’ve heard about this, but have to say it does not appeal to me all that much. Of course I hope those looking forward to it won’t be disappointed. Happy reading!
    My WoW, and there’s also a 100 Followers Giveaway running on my blog

  3. I’ve not heard of this one before, but it sounds awesome! 🙂 Will be going on my tbr soon
    Thanks for stopping by My WW!

    Janina

  4. Book Blather says:

    Greek Gods meets Dystopian world, sounds like my kind of recipe! 🙂

  5. This one seems really interesting, especially with mythology, but I’m extremely picky about dystopian novels, so I’ll have to wait for reviews first. Thanks for sharing! 😀
    Hey, check this out! 😀
    Review: Losing It
    Waiting on Wednesday

  6. This was my WoW a few weeks ago. Looks so good, I can’t wait for it to come out.

    Check out My WoW

  7. Looks great. Hope you get to read it soon!
    Brandi at Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  8. Trish says:

    Sounds like an interesting world, good pick :-). Looking forward to hearing more about it in the future. I like the cover too, the heroine looks strong and fierce, hope so!

  9. Jessica says:

    Yay! I had this as my WOW a couple of weeks ago! I found it on GR and was super excited!

    My WOW

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

  10. I thought this was going to be just another dystopian, but then saw the mythology aspect and my curiosity went way up. Definitely sounds interesting.

  11. ooh it has mythology. *adds to list*

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.