Waiting on Wednesday #28

21-06-10-cause-id-rather-pretend-ill-still-be-there-at-the-end-explored-1_4

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine where we spotlight books we are eagerly anticipating.

Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis

Expected Publication: September 24th, 2013

Preorder: Amazon* / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

*I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purchases

Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water.

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn’t leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

I didn’t pay much attention to this one because the cover didn’t grab me…but this sounds like it could be really interesting.Why is the water supply so low? I also love that this seems more like a personal novel instead of a  ‘look at the world, I’m going to fix it!’ kind of novel.

So what do you think? What are you waiting on this week?

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #28

  1. This one sounds interesting to me as well. I’ve not seen it around before now, but I’m really curious about it!

    Janina
    My WW!

  2. I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS. Sorry, I got excited. But I am so thrilled to read this soon 😀

    Courtney Ann @ Rondo of a Possible World
    Waiting on Wednesday

  3. So excited for this one! Became even more excited when I saw the gorgeous cover! A world without water! Sucky!
    My WOW

  4. This certainly sounds like an interesting read. Great pick.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever’s WoW

  5. This is on my wishlist too. Hope you get to read it soon!
    Brandi at Blkosiner’s Book BlogI am

  6. Sane @ Itching for Books says:

    I was waiting for this a few weeks ago it definitely sounds interesting 🙂

    http://itchingforbooks.blogspot.com/2013/05/waiting-on-wednesday-47.html

  7. Tanja says:

    This one is on my list too. It sounds so intriguing and I can’t wait to read it. Great pick 🙂

  8. Kate says:

    Great choice! I can’t wait for this either : )

    my WOW and giveaway

  9. Octavia says:

    I’m excited for this one too! In fact I have it scheduled for my WoW in the next few weeks! It just sounds different from the other dystopians out there!

    Thanks for dropping by Read. Sleep. Repeat.

  10. I got an early copy of this one and cannot wait to dive in. Love a good dystopian/post-apocalyptic book so I have big hopes this one will be fantastic. Thanks for stopping by!!

    Bonnie @ Sweet Tidbits

  11. Book Nerd says:

    I’m super excited for this one too! I can’t wait for it! The cover could be different but the synopsis sounds amazing!
    ——
    Giselle @ Book Nerd Canada
    Waiting on Wednesday

  12. jen ryland says:

    Interesting — the cover reminds me a little of Taken.

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW! Jen @ YA Romantics

  13. Sounds very interesting, I’m totally curious about it now. Sounds different which is always good 🙂

  14. This was my WoW pick a couple WoW’s ago 🙂 I am so excited to read it when it comes out I might host a read-a-long on my blog for it. Great pick Michelle!
    Thanks for stopping by my WoW post today!
    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

  15. Awesome pick!! I love how intense & honestly badass this sounds 🙂 The water element makes it just realistic enough to make it especially creepy I think! Thanks for sharing~

    New follower via Bloglovin’ G+ and NB ♥
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

  16. Eek! I have an eARC of this book! I have to read it soon. Catching up on things, as you said 😀

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  17. The synopsis got me, and yes I will be interested to try this, awesome pick Michelle! My WoW

  18. Thomas says:

    I’m curious about this one too! I agree that it seems to be more of a personal story as opposed to one that is a typical action-adventure/dystopian one.

  19. Even though the cover is kind of plain, I think it’s very eye-catching and perfect for this book.
    Thanks for stopping by my WOW

  20. sashandem says:

    Em is starting this one next week hopefully! Looks good!

  21. stuckinbooks says:

    I’ve seen this before and you’re right the cover doesn’t do much for me. It does sound interesting though.

  22. I’m really excited about this one and I can’t wait to get my hands on it when it comes out. Great pick! I hope you enjoy reading it too.
    Come check out my WOW post.

  23. Kelsey says:

    I can’t wait for this one either! Looks great!

    Kelsey @ Behind Closed Covers

  24. This one is definitely on my TBR great pick!

    Jaime @ Two Chicks On Books

  25. I got a copy of this off EW and I’m really looking forward to starting it!

    Thanks for stopping by my WOW!

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

  26. Book Wookie says:

    I’ve been seeing this book cross my Goodreads feed a lot lately. That’s usually a sign that the book is going to be a good one! Can’t wait to read it as well.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.