Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – April 2016

dewey-300x300

Yay! My favorite readathon is finally here! I have to work today, but I’m hoping to get in a lot of reading anyway…especially since it’s a bookstore and it’s not considered rude to just read while a customer is browsing.

My TBR 

24HrTBR

  • The Rogue by Katherine Ashe
  • The Magicians by Lev Grossman
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster
  • Rooms by Lauren Oliver
  • Star Wars: Darth Vader Vol. 2
  • Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why

Updates

Hour 6 – Finished The Magicians (Thank goodness, because I hated it.)

Hour 7 – Finished Darth Vader Vol. 2

Hour 18 – Finished The Force Awakens

Challenges

Intro – Readathon Blog

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Villa Rica, Georgia (US)
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Force Awakens
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Snickers!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’ll be reading from the bookstore I own. ❤
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? Actually read…HA! Bu really, I plan to read a lot more than I did last year, I was still getting use to working AND trying to balance reading time.

Childhood Memories – Readage

1 – Watching Wishbone on PBS after school at my grandmothers house. It was one of my favorite shows growing up and it was the one show I would absolutely refuse to stop watching for dinner, bathroom breaks, etc.

2 – Being surrounded by reading material from day one. My dad was a big reader and my mom loved the act of buying books, which meant our house was full of them and I was never without something to read. If I asked for a book my mom would ALWAYS buy it if she could.

3 – Sneaking into my older brothers room to read his books. I would wait until he was off with his friends to go check out his books, most were somewhat boring like Tom Sawyer (still read most of it) but he always had things like Fear Street.

4 – My middle school library. I use to go to the library almost daily, to the point where I’d go and the librarian would automatically type my library card number in before I got to the counter. I never did that in elementary school, or even high school…but I just loved my middle school’s library because there was no pressure to find anything, no pressure to read a school required book. It was just me and a huge room of seemingly unlimited possibilities.

5 – Harry Potter release events. These were HUGE! I only managed to make it to two of them, but they were amazing! Harry Potter trivia, costumes, Butterbeer, and games! It was Harry Potter perfection.

Mid-Event Survey – Readathon

1. What are you reading right now? Star Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster
2. How many books have you read so far? 2
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Probably The Force Awakens, or the latter half of it.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I’ve had a few, like having to run to Home Depot and get some flowers for the store front. I just tackled them as quickly as possible. Now I have to babysit dogs, which is proving more challenging.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? Nothing, really. I’m not very easy to surprise I suppose.

 

 

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – April 2016

  1. Hi, glad you are having a good readathon, how lucky to work in a bookshop, so jealous.

  2. I follow your instagram and I’m obsessed with your book store! Too bad you didn’t like the Magicians. I’ve been thinking about reading it.

  3. I am happy I visited this post even though the event is over because I loved reading your childhood memories section. 🙂

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.