Tell Me Tuesday (40)

TellMeTuesday

Hosted by La La in the Library

Last Read

 

  • Chewbacca – This was a rather good one-shot dealing with Chewbacca towards the end of A New Hope. It’s not overly necessary plot wise but it’s a good one.
  • Princess Leia – Or a graphic novel proving that she is an entity unto herself and should have more adventures focused on her.
  • Star Wars Vol. 1: Skywalker Strikes – This was so freaking frustrating to read. On one hand, it has some really cool moments, on the other, it’s full of little moments that make me wonder if everyone has completely gone dim.
  • Not Pictured: Several Sherlock short stories by Arthur Conan Doyle. I re-joined the Sherlock read-along on Litsy and while I am behind I’m currently working my way through the Memoirs shorts.
  • Not Pictured: Naruto Vol. 4-6 and Vampire Knight 14 – I’m enjoying Naruto, but I’ve seen the entire series so it’s not really anything more than a comfort read. Vampire Knight is one I’ll be happy to finish because it sucks…no pun intended, this series doesn’t deserve puns.

Current Reads

  • The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne – I’m going to be exceedingly plain here…I hate this so far. The story isn’t bad and the writing isn’t either…but the combination of this slow build narrative with the writing style that meanders about is just too much. I’m almost half way done and I don’t know what I’m supposed to do with this.
  • Thrawn by Timothy Zahn – *inhales deeply* YEEEESSSSSS! I’m in love with this book and this character. Thrawn is a character that Disney revived from the old stories and I’m so glad they did. The Star Wars universe is all the better with him around.
  • Arena by Holly Jennings – My newest pick from Blogging for Books…I’m technically just starting though. I haven’t really been reading physical books a lot so it’s taking some time to get used to.

Up Next

  • Outsystem by M.D. Cooper – I need to get to this very soon as it’s for review.
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – This will be a re-read and I’m joining in on a Litsy group read of the main Middle Earth books. We’ll be reading a chapter a day starting with The Hobbit (today actually), and then moving to the LotR and then The Silmarillion.
  • Tal’Dorei – This is an RP handbook that gives the details of Tal’Dorei, the fictional world that Matthew Mercer (voice actor) created for his Dungeons and Dragons group which stream on a twitch stream called Critical Role. I need to make a character and such for an upcoming campaign my group will be doing.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tell Me Tuesday (40)

  1. Naty says:

    I have that Princess Leia comic, and absolutely fell in love with the art! Still haven’t read it though… I forgot it at a friend’s place.

    I love The Hobbit. It’s such a light and fun read. Hope you enjoy re-reading it!

  2. House Of the Seven Gables needs to be a re-read for me. I read it and The Hobbit in senior high which was over 40 years ago. I can’t tell you anything about HOtSG because I remember NOTHING about it. In fact, I took the tour of the house in Salem about ten years after I read the book and barely remembered any of it when the tour guide was talking about it. I am going to reread The Hobbit soon. I must give props to the Naruto books because I have used them many times to get my sometimes reluctant literacy tutees interested in reading something. Thanks for TMTing! I linked you this morning and I will do the other stuff now. 🙂

    • I’m reading it right now and I barely remember it! 😉 That’s a lie, I do remember it, but there isn’t much going on really. I was expecting a bit more than the focus it’s giving to the family, especially given all the build up on how the house is not rightfully theirs or the supposed cruelty of their forefather. I think I’m mostly at odds with the writing though. I’ve read books this slow before but none of them were written in such a long winded way.

      I’m surprised with how much I’m enjoying Naruto right now. I watched the whole series years ago and admittedly loved it, even with all it’s problems and starting the manga has been fun! I can definitely see how it would be a go to recommendation.

  3. Greg Hill says:

    Ooh your Middle Earth re- read sounds fun. Cool looking campaign book too.

    LOL about Thrawn. As I read the original Thrawn trilogy I find myself hoping Mara Jade shows up in “new” Star Wars too, but i know that’s not happening…:)

    • I’m so excited about the campaign book! It’s done by Green Ronin but it’s a supplement to D&D 5th edition and I can not wait to try it all out.

      I know a lot of people are hoping she’ll show up, it would be interesting to see how they would do it and what ways she would be different. Thrawn was the only old EU character that I really hoped would make the cut since Darth Bane did though just barely.

  4. Claire@LinleyRoss says:

    How are you enjoying the Conan Doyle short stories? I’ve read a couple novels but never the short stories.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.