Fictional Foodies: Buzz Cake

Fictional Foodies

 Hosted by Indie-Visible

So the first Fictional Foodies has been up on the Indie-Visible page for a little while now, and I decided I was going to put on my adult hat and try cooking again.

For those who don’t know, Fictional Foodies, is a monthly post on Indie-Visible focused on the foods in some of our favorite indie-novels. The author gives us the recipe and then we set out to make it and share our experience. The author will then pick a winner and give them a prize.

This month’s feature is Honey Queen by Christina Mercer, and her recipe is for Buzz Cake! When you participate you are entered to win a signed copy of Honey Queen (US) or an ebook of Honey Queen (US/International). You can post your entries on the Indie-Visible facebook page, your instagram or pinterest, or you can use the hashtag #IVFictionalFoodies and tweet it to @indievisible4

Find the Recipe Here

Honey Queen

My Experience

I don’t cook…I can cook, but only if I’m not cooking from scratch. The moment I become in charge of prepping anything other than cornbread (which I do make from scratch) I immediately assume I’m going to give myself food poisoning. Have I ever? No…but I’m pretty sure my cooking is secretly deadly.

However the recipe is super simple. You’re just making yellow cake, and then the honey glaze icing to go on top. Easy peasy. It took me about 30 mins to get everything mix together, simple because I don’t have an electric beater and hand whisking some of it took a while. Then another 35 (to 45) minutes for it to bake, about 15 to make the icing and then to let it cool for another 10-20 minutes.

To top it off it actually does taste good! The honey glaze on top is fantastic, and I love that the cake absorbs it as well.

10489758_10205709841086177_634386619777353706_n

So what do you think?

If you are thinking about doing and sharing this recipe please go check out the Buzz cake article for more details. We really love to have more readers involved!

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fictional Foodies: Buzz Cake

  1. lab1990 says:

    What a fun idea, and the cake looks good.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  2. That sounds kind of cool! There is an eccles cake (think it’s a savory meat cake) from The Oversight that I would love to try making!

  3. Yum..it looks good and this sounds like fun.

  4. Well done for hand mixing, that is hard work! It looks really easy and very tasty!

  5. Looks yummy! The trick to cooking and baking is to add your skills one at a time and not trying to learn it all at once. You did a great job!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.