Saturday Issue Review: Paper Girls Vol. 1

thesaturdayissue

The Saturday Issue focuses on the more visual books read here at In Libris Veritas; ranging from graphic novels to manga to game companion guides.

PaperGirlsVol1Source: Image/Netgalley – I received this in exchange for an honest review. 
Publisher: Image
Series: Paper Girls #15
Edition: Paperback, 144 Pages
Genre:
 Science Fiction
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository
Rating: 2/5

In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood.

Paper Girls has been getting some good reviews lately so I figured I’d take the chance on a review copy and see what the fuss was all about. Quite frankly, I’m not entirely sure I know…even after reading it. I’m not questioning people’s tastes, but I am seriously questioning my reading comprehension. I feel like I’m missing some key elements of this story, because I spent 70% of my time confused.

This is a story that presents itself to the reader at the same pace it presents itself to the characters…and while that’s not a bad thing, in fact I tend to enjoy that in comics, I found myself getting frustrated at it. I’m assuming this has some deeper meaning about the use of technology …or something. Honestly I don’t know. Half of the players in this don’t speak English….or proper english, so we don’t even get most of the info they give out. I expected to be confused a bit with a time travel type story, but there are so many elements that just come out of no where and I have so many questions.

I think Paper Girls is a love it or leave it affair. It has some strong art and the dialogue between the girls is pretty great, but I think there is where my appreciation ends. I’m not sure I’ll be picking the others in the series up, but I will be on wikipedia looking for a summary.

2 stars

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2016) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

